Unable to boot from main HDD and HDD raw copied HDD7

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by gamez_girl, Aug 26, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gamez_girl

    gamez_girl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Uisng a acer 10inch netbook and Paragon Drive Backup 9.0 Professional Edition GAOTD . Wanted to upgrade the HDD from 160GB to 500B so used Paragon to copy the HDD using HDD raw coy, verification, and surface scan. Left the thing running overnight. Afterwards when I came back th e screeen was balck and justhad a blanking cursor atthe top left corner. ANy keys pressed made an error noise. What was this screen?

    So I manually restareted the computer and the main HDD was no longer bottable. The second HDD would boot winXP but came up with a blue screen of error:
    STOP: 0x0000007B (0xF7CC0524, 0xC0000034, 0x0000000, 0x0000000)

    Didn't create paragon's recovery cds since didn't have disk burner atthe time. Ho. Couldd I create these on another computer?

    How could I boot from the main HDD and fix the seocnd HDD now?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. gamez_girl

    gamez_girl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    The copied HDD actually works if I place it in the netbook but he main HDD doesn't work? How do I fix the main HDD?
     
  3. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    Hello gamez_girl,

    Sounds like you need to adjust the migrated hard drive to be compatible with the new hardware. Essentially, you need to inject the drivers required for the operating system to detect all the new hardware. Below is an overview of the procedure.

    • Boot from the Adaptive Restore WinPE Recovery CD in the new system.
    • Run the P2P Adjust OS Wizard
    • If it tells you no OS detected, you may need to supply a VISTA/2008 32-bit compatible driver to the WinPE environment so that it can see the disk drive you wish to operate on. Back out and go to Tools / Add Drivers.
    • From the P2P Wizard, select the OS you wish to adjust.
    • Select the Automatic option (1st option).
    • Point the wizard to the folder containing your driver files.
    • Proceed to Apply changes physically.
    • Boot into Windows!

    PM'ed with additional information.

    -Tommy
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Perhaps I'm missing something here. Why would the source drive be unbootable after the copy procedure? And why would the source drive need any drivers added (Adaptive Restore)? Those drivers should still exist on the drive as the copied drive boots okay (as stated on Post #2).

    I would guess that the problem with booting the copied drive (as in Post #1) was because the drive wasn't installed in the computer. If so, that's normal as Windows wasn't designed to boot from USB devices.

    If the source drive had to reboot into Linux to do the copy and then locked up, perhaps the MBR was not reset or became corrupted (assuming Drive Backup uses that method)?
     
  5. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    Thanks MudCrab for pointing that out. It's possible that the MBR is corrupted after the disk copy. Do you plan to replace the internal HD with the new HD? Netbooks like all laptops can only house 1 internal HD, so at some point, when you tried to boot to the new HD, you swapped out HDs and received the 7B error? If I'm mistaken, and the new HD is an external and plugged via USB, disconnect the new HD, boot to the recovery CD, and update the MBR on the existing HD.

    Generally, that 7B error means Window's unable to find a driver that it needs to boot the operating system which validate that we might need adaptive restore.
     
  6. Paragon_Tony

    Paragon_Tony Former Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Posts:
    46
    Hi gamez_girl,

    It seems you have two different issues at hand.

    The drive you copied to (500GB) begins booting to XP but crashes with a stop error of 0x0000007B. As Tommy mentioned this typically indicates that the driver for the boot device is missing, corrupt, or mismatched. Read more here: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/324103

    The original drive that you copied from (160) boots to a black screen with a blinking cursor. (Please confirm).

    First, I should mention that HDD Raw Processing is not working currently. If you wish to do a raw or 1:1 copy, please enable 'Partition Raw Processing' instead; it will work just the same.

    Using HDD Raw Processing will not cause damage to your system; it simply does a normal copy. Also, when you use Raw Processing you cannot resize the partitions during the copy (cannot grow to larger drive size), and every sector is treated as used space (raw copy of 80GB = 80GB processed). There's really no reason to use this unless you encounter problems with a normal copy, possibly due to un-fixable drive errors or cross-linked files, or if you wish to copy a drive that uses a file system that Drive Backup does not support. Also, Raw Copy always requires a system restart.

    There is absolutely no reason why the source drive content would be damaged due to a copy or backup. In fact, my best guess is that your copy never actually took place.

    I believe there was a problem writing the "restart mode" entry to your drive that has resulted in an incorrect Master Boot Record. When an operation that cannot be run live is applied, Drive Backup modifies the MBR and reboots the system into our "pre-OS" mode to carry out the tasks. Normally this would automatically be removed when the operation is completed or canceled, which is why I don't think the copy ever happened.

    Assuming the copy never took place, and you already had Windows installed the 500GB drive, it would explain why you are seeing the 0x7B code when you try to boot to it in this system; the boot drivers would in fact be different. If the copy did run, then it did not copy correctly.

    Use one of the following options to fix your original drive and get back to Windows:

    Fix the MBR using the Paragon Standard Recovery CD (Linux/DOS):
    -Boot from the Recovery CD and choose either Normal Mode or Safe Mode
    -Run Boot Corrector
    -Select Modify Partition Parameters, Click Next
    -Ensure that the Windows Partition has the Active flag (A). If not, highlight it and click Set Active.
    -Click Back
    -Select Correct the Master Boot Record (MBR), Click Next
    -Select Update the MBR executable code, Click Next, Click Yes, Click Finish

    Fix the MBR using the Paragon Advanced Recovery CD (WinPE):
    -Boot from the Recovery CD
    -Choose the first option to run DB9
    -Right click your Windows partition; you should either see Mark Active, or Mark Inactive. If it says Mark Active, do it. If it says Mark Inactive, you're fine.
    -Right click the Hard Disk (click above the partitions)
    -Click Update MBR
    -Apply your changes

    You can also run 'Fixmbr' from the Windows XP/2003 Recovery Console, or 'bootrec /fixmbr' from the Vista/2008 Console. Step-by-step instructions can easily be found online.

    The Standard CD is included in all Editions and is created by installing the application in Windows and running the Recovery Media Builder. WinPE is included with Professional Edition (not including Free Editions or Giveaways) and above and is delivered as a seperate download in an EXE package; run the file to launch the Unpack & Burn Wizard and follow the steps to burn the bootable disc.

    Once you are back in Windows, run CHKDSK /f on all volumes. When you've confirmed there are no errors, retry your copy.

    If operations requiring a restart continue to result in your drive not being bootable then there may be a compatibility issue, or a more serious problem.

    Once you have the original drive booting again, I recommend that you use the Recovery CD to perform the copy outside of Windows, without using Raw Processing. If you wish to stretch the partitions on the 160 to fill all the extra space on the 500, make sure you enable the option to 'Copy and Resize Proportionally'.

    Please let us know how it works out or if you need further assistance.
     
  7. gamez_girl

    gamez_girl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Hi Paragon_Tony

    If HDD raw copy doesn't work why isn't there a warning about his.

    When I did that copy operation, it ended with a screen with a blinking cursor. Now all it says is that:
    No Bootable Device -- Insert boot disk and press any key

    The main/source/160GB is no longer working at all. After booting with the standare recovery disc I don't see an active partition and there is no windows installation detected either. What I see makes no sense at all.

    5 partitions are detected when there used to be only 2 (6GB Local Disk(OEM Service volume) | 143GB NTFS Acer).

    |Primary| Free| 3.1Gb
    (H)| Primary| Invalid| 915Gb| [No label]
    (H)| Primary| Invalid| 5.0Kb | [No label]
    | Primary| Free | 13.7Gb
    | Primary| Invalid| 867Gb| [No label]

    I don't actually have any winXP installation discs. Acer only lets you create recovery discs that will reinstall windows.

    Nothing on this drives makes sense anymore. Why doesn't it work? Without an active partition I have to fix to try - right? What happened to my source HDD?
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2009
  8. Paragon_Tony

    Paragon_Tony Former Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Posts:
    46
    Hi gamez_girl,

    What is the current layout of the 500GB drive? If changes have been made, what was the original layout?

    It's hard to say what happened here. Now it sounds like you may have accidentally queued multiple operations before you applied and/or copied the 500GB onto the 160, but I'd like to inspect the 500GB drive before jumping to any other conclusions.
     
  9. gamez_girl

    gamez_girl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Hi Paragon_Tony

    The 500GB HDD works in the netbook and is what partitions shown is what the 160GB used to have. 6GB for recovery/OS partition, 143GB for the main partition, and the remember is unpartitioned.

    The 500GB started out as a new HDD with nothing on it when I started the HDD raw copy.

    What went wrong with the 160GB and how do I fix it?
     
  10. kcaegis45

    kcaegis45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Posts:
    37
    Since the 500GB HD is working with an unpartition volume, partition that volume, then using the backup program make an image of both at the same time of the recovery OS (6GB) partition & main partition (143GB) from the 500GB HD and store it in the new partition you created. This might not be necessary but partition & format the old drive for one partition only.Then do a "RESTORE DISK or PARTITON", using the image you created that you stored in the 500GB new partition, restore it to the old HD. Now the old HD should be the same. There might be an easier way bit since you had problems using the copy feature, try the backup image feature. Not sure why you want to restore the old HD with the old info since you are replacing it but I hope that works.
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2009
  11. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    Hi gamez_girl,

    Since the disk copy was successful on the 500GB new hard drive, I'm baffled how the source hard drive (160GB) was affected in any way. With that said, I'm glad you have at least one good copy of your operating system. There's a couple of options here that we can try.

    First I would boot into the recovery disk and take a look at the original hard drive again. With the partition tables the way they are, there's really only one option. Right Click each individual partition on the 160GB HD and delete. Once you get a clean single teal bar of unallocated space (free), apply all changes. Next step is to use the undelete feature. Found under Partition > Undelete, this process takes from 30mins to a couple of hours depending what the condition of the hard drive is. Hopefully it will be able to reconstruct the partition table and boot again.

    Depending on the results of the undelete, you can also copy from the 500GB back to the 160GB.

    -Tommy
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.