Unable to backup

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by atkulp, Jun 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. atkulp

    atkulp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    I installed Acronis True Image 9.0 on Windows Vista Beta 2 yesterday and then installed True Image. Everything installed fine, but when it attempts to run a backup operation it fails every time. I tell it to do a full system, full backup with compression and normal priority saved to a network drive. I get two main errors:

    Can not find a partition with the path \local\hd_sign(FB84FB84)
    Failed to process pair script:{GUID HERE}

    Is it a Vista incompatibility? The errors don't tell me anything! I just purchased True Image from Amazon and was prepared to be amazed (based on a friend's recommendation). What am I doing wrong?

    Thanks!
    -Arian
     
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    TI doesn't support Vista yet.
     
  3. atkulp

    atkulp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks for the response. That's very disappointing, but it's also a bit of a cop-out. Are the errors specifically because I installed on Vista, or could it be for any other reason? Whether or not Vista is supported by Acronis, the issue could be caused by anything. If Vista is causing the error then I'll give up, but I'm hoping that I'm just not understanding something about TI.

    Thanks!
     
  4. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Acronis says Vista will be supported in a later build/version and if it worked in the current version I am sure they would be more than happy to say it does, even if it was a bit unstable.

    One person ran TI on a dual-boot system and he couldn't make a serviceable backup of Vista so there are other issues than just getting it installed.

    Look at this thread for some more info.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=106883
     
  5. Shraddhan

    Shraddhan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Posts:
    26
    When I installed Vista Beta 2 today as an additional operating system, I was informed specifically by the setup program that Acronis True Image was not compatible, and to contact Acronis about this.

    Vista can apparently do a complete image backup to enable a full system restore in case of hardware failures, (Microsoft recommend a full backup every SIX MONTHS!!! I do mine daily.)

    The Vista backup will only work with NTFS partitions. I need to be able to make my backups to FAT32 partitions, so I will not be abandoning TI next year when Vista starts shipping.

    Shraddhan
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.