Unable to access sites

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Biscuit, Feb 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Across 2 computers - both new W7 builds, I've been seeing some occcasional issues since installing Prevx with Safeonline. Old builds were Nod32 v2.7 with Prevx regular. Occasionally... every few days I see an issue where Firefox is unable to load any website. (Google, Ebay etc). Disabling Safeonline, then closing & opening Firefox allows connection. When this happens, the other computer is fine, so it's not a network/ISP issue.
     
  2. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Hello Biscuit,
    Have you tried using Firefox 3.5.8 (or another build) to see if this might make
    any difference? Just a thought.
     
  3. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Thanks for your reply.

    No I've not tried an earlier Firefox build, I didn't really want to mess too much with my nice shiny installs. :doubt:
     
  4. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    463
    Location:
    UK
    I had this problem too - kept getting random site not found messages until I restarted Firefox. For me, it was one of my addins in Firefox that caused the problem (BrowserDefender). I chose to uninstall this and the problem dissapeared.

    Don't know what addins you have with your shiny new build though.
     
  5. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Interesting point, I have the same addins as my old build, but the issue disappears when SafeOnline is disabled.
     
  6. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Biscuit/pling_man:
    In the event that this is SafeOnline interfering with your browsers, could you try sending a scan log to report@prevxresearch.com? It is possible that one of the browser plugins is not trusted within SafeOnline and therefore could be affecting the browsing experience.

    Thanks!
     
  7. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    463
    Location:
    UK
    I don't need to now. I removed BrowserDefender and everything is fine.

    I'm going to try the WOT Firefox plugin when I have the time.

    I have enough protection anyway I think (see signature)
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2010
  8. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    463
    Location:
    UK
    Just found out the signature's only added to new posts.:D
     
  9. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Should I re-enable Safeonline before running a scan?
     
  10. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    No, with SafeOnline disabled will produce the same results.
     
  11. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    463
    Location:
    UK
    I would say you need to turn it on before scanning. (ha PrevXHelp's here ignore me what do i know)

    Can you share with us what your addons are Biscuit as this problem and the one with your mouse could be related.
     
  12. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Sure:

    Adblock Plus
    Xmarks
    Coral IE Tab
    Cookie Monster
    Download Statusbar
    LogMeIn, Inc. Rescue Technician Console
    OptimizeGoogle
    Save Image in Folder
    RefControl
    NoScript
    Tab Mix Plus
    Organize Status Bar
    TinyUrl Creator
    Linkification
    SecurePassword Generator
    FoxyProxy Standard
    Garmin Communicator
    FEBE
    CLEO
    British English Dictionary
    Yet Another Smooth Scrolling

    Note: I installed the Smooth Scrolling add-on AFTER my problems.
     
  13. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Done. :cool:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.