unable to access modem configuration

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by boesdad, Apr 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. boesdad

    boesdad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Posts:
    65
    When I try to access http://192.168.100.1/ in IE8, IE says it can't display
    web site. In FF it display the Main screen, but then gives a popup that
    their is a connection interruption.

    If I disable web access protection, then it works on both
    IE8 & FF.

    Is their a setting under web access protection I should change?

    Thanks
     
  2. DesertRat

    DesertRat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Posts:
    32
    What if you went a step further, to Address Management, and ticked the check box "Notify when applying address from the list"?

    That's a private address, probably your router? I can't imagine why that address would trigger anything in NOD32, unless it's not an address problem. Some routers are capable of being infected.
     
  3. boesdad

    boesdad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Posts:
    65
    I did what you suggested and added
    http://192.168.100.1/ and tried it.

    received a popup from Nod32:

    Address excluded from checking by list:
    lists of addresses excluded from filtering

    URL ADDRESS "192.168.100.1"
    IP Address 192.168.100.1:80
     
  4. DesertRat

    DesertRat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Posts:
    32
    I guess while you were in that set of options you went ahead and added 192.168.100.1 to the list of list of addresses excluded from filtering?

    So are you in your modem or router now?
     
  5. boesdad

    boesdad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Posts:
    65
    Yes, I added the address to the list of addresses
    being excluded from filtering...but it didn't help

    I am using only a modem
     
  6. DesertRat

    DesertRat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Posts:
    32
    I wasn't suggesting (yet) to add to the address filters. I was suggesting that you only check the "notify when applying" check box so that you'd get a notification from NOD32 if it was applying a filter. If it's not using address filtering, then you need to look elsewhere for the problem.

    By the way, you noticed that there's three types of lists for address management? Which list did you add your modem address to, and are there any addresses in the other lists?
     
  7. boesdad

    boesdad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Posts:
    65
    I added it to "list of addr excluded from filtering"

    There are no addresses listed in any of the three.

    Just ran it with "notify when applying" and
    got no popup from Nod32, so it appears it
    not using any filters

    thanks for your feedback
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.