µMatrix - the HTTP Switchboard successor

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by tlu, Oct 25, 2014.

  1. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,901
    I understand.

    Nevertheless, can you reproduce above issue? It still exists in 1.0.1b4 on FF54.

    EDIT: I'm taking your proposal into consideration. Perhaps someone else would also be willing - @mood ?
     
  2. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,901
    @gorhill : The problem regarding the matrix mentioned here is illustrated, e.g., on https://www.nytimes.com. If you click in the *.nytimes.com field the down arrow in order to display the subdomains in their own lines, you'll see that the matrix is not large enough. Now if you scroll down and try to modify a cell, e.g., in the typeface.nyt.com line you'll see that this is impossible as the matrix immediately scrolls up again as soon as the cursor moves away from the scrollbar at the right.
     
  3. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,325
    Selecting * / *.nytimes.com / www.nytimes.com are showing the same behaviour.
    It immediately scrolls up if the cursor moves into the matrix. I noticed that the "other"-column is smaller.

    Ok, now i noticed it on other websites too.
    If a lot of domains are shown in the matrix, the matrix itself is "moved to the left" a little bit after it has been opened because the scrollbar at the right need some space.
    But this is not happening with v1.0.1b5 (i haven't tested other versions, but it is also happening with b4 #627)
    Chrome is showing correct behaviour, but not Firefox:

    Chrome:
    Chrome-umatrix-1.0_.png
    Firefox (smaller "other"-column, and if the cursor moves into the matix it scrolls up):
    Firefox-umatrix.png
    If i have much more time, this would be no problem but not at the moment ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  4. rethink

    rethink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Posts:
    68
    For some reason, I cannot use settings and logger on Firefox 55. I click on them and nothing happens. I am pretty sure I did not have this problem until v54. Can anyone reproduce?

    Every other change is working perfectly.
     
  5. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,325
    What version are you using, uMatrix v1.0.0 or the latest beta.

    A similar issue was mentioned there (Firefox v55):
    uMatrix v1.0.0 was affected and it was fixed with a newer beta.
     
  6. rethink

    rethink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Posts:
    68
    Indeed uMatrix v1.0.0 did not work installed latest beta from dev channel although it purged all my settings due to being a web-extension.

    I guess restore possibility does not exist anymore :/
     
  7. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,325
    I guess it is too late:
     
  8. kingx51

    kingx51 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Canada
    Yep, having the same problem here. On FF55

    https://a.uguu.se/Zs8Qhq1SW5mh_2017-08-31_08-32-18.gif
     
  9. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,016
    he is aware of the problem - go mozillazine
     
  10. kingx51

    kingx51 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Canada
    Thank you! Wasn't aware there was a mozillazine thread
     
  11. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,016
  12. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,325
    Nice, there is a "workaround" for this issue:
    After opening of the matrix in the logger, it is possible to select fields in the matrix without the scroll-issue.
     
  13. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,901
    Yes, I had noticed that, too. But the issue is still confusing for users who are not aware of this work-around, though.
     
  14. malexous

    malexous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    Ireland
    Updated to Firefox 56 and the uMatrix 1.0.0 panel was not displaying properly. Fixed it by changing browser.photon.structure.enabled to true via about:config.
     
  15. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,901
    Interesting. That switch doesn't exist anymore in FF58 Nightly probably because Photon has become the default.
     
  16. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,901
    One interesting observation: On FF58 Nightly I'm testing the Linguee it! add-on. And although @gorhill wrote (and this applies also to uMatrix):
    .. I'm seeing behind-the-scene requests by that add-on to google-analytics.com and ioam.de in the uMatrix logger:

    Linguee.png

    And these requests are blocked by uMatrix, of course. Hence, at least some b-t-s requests by add-ons are still controllable. I wonder why and which ones ...
     
  17. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,325
  18. malexous

    malexous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    Ireland
    Using uMatrix in Firefox for Android now, instead of uBlock Origin. Thank you for making it compatible!

    The matrix is only viewable using the uMatrix logger in Firefox 56 but everything works as expected with Firefox 57.
     
  19. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,016
    uM is NO adblocker like uBo. its a http data switch.
     
  20. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,325
  21. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,901
    In the release notes for uMatrix 1.1.5rc0 is an important hint by @gorhill:
     
  22. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,325
  23. sebastianTT

    sebastianTT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Ravenna, Italy
    Gmx.com is now broken (no javacript detected) with umatrix 1.1.6 and Firefox 57.

    I couldn't quite pinpoint the source of the problem though. Any ideas?
     
  24. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,317
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Allowing uicdn.com does the trick.
     
  25. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,325
    With the pre-release of uMatrix the user can now switch the scope with a single mouse click, instead of using the dropdown-list. And the default scope level can be selected in the settings:
    Settings:
    uMatrix_preferences_scope.png

    The following scopes can be selected: Site / Domain / TLD / Global (*)
    uMatrix_1.1.7rc0.png
    uMatrix_matrix_scope=site.png
    uMatrix_matrix_scope=domain.png
    uMatrix_matrix_scope=tld.png
    uMatrix_matrix_scope=global.png
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.