Ubuntu installing.... HELP....!

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Trapster, May 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Trapster

Trapster Registered Member

I have an old desktop pc which ran windows xp home sp2 but it started to blue screen of death about a year and half ago each and every time i tried to boot it, the registry was basically fried. I replaced the old machine with a vista laptop shortly after and the old desktop sat in the corner gathering dust.

I have decided to fix the old pc, its an asus p5vdc-x motherboard with 2x pentium 4's installed, 190gb hd, 1gb ram, 3000ghz (if that is of any help). as i have long since lost the xp installation discs i decided to convert the machine totally to ubuntu as i have never used a linux based system before and am keen to learn and try on an old computer.

as the registry was pooped i firstly booted active@killdisk and overwrote the entire C: with zero's. i then managed to use gparted live cd to format C: to ext3 which i understand is the file system of choice for ubuntu. when i did this i noticed a small partition which said msdos which i simply left.

next i tried to install ubuntu via the live cd, i had changed the bios to boot from the dvd rom drive i had burnt the live disc on (i used the vista laptop to burn the iso incidentally). everything appeared to be going well, an ubuntu screen popped up with an install option. when i tried to install it asked me where i am and for a user name and password. then it seems it cannot install anything, language failed, disc partition i think it was called also failed, i then for a few other fail warnings for what appeared to modules the installation was attempting to install. the whole installation then appears to go into a loop, from screens 3 of 7 up to 5 of 6 then back again. each crash has the options to try again, quit or something like ignore/continue.