Ubuntu disk image with True Image Acronis

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by blacknight, Oct 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe
    If I have Ubuntu installed in a partition of my HD - XP on the other - can True Image Acronis make an Ubuntu disk image and restore it ?

    Sorry, but a fast search in the forum didn't get any result, and today I 'm very busy.



     
  2. tlu

    tlu Guest

    I assume that you use ext4 as your file system. I'm not sure if Acronis supports that now - it didn't in earlier versions AFAIK. Why don't you use Clonezilla? It's free and very reliable.
     
  3. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I did it some times but I use ext 3.
     
  4. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe
    Thank. I know Clonezilla, but I would prefer to use Acronis... but it seems that is not possible or useful.I'm not much experienced with Linux: Clonezilla can restore by external support as Acronis does ? Or it need the command line from Linux ?
     
  5. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Try acronis. It,s faster n easier.
     
  6. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe
    My Acronis version is 11.0 8.101, and I don't know if it works with ext4 . Someone knows it ?
     
  7. tlu

    tlu Guest

    Sorry, I don't understand that question. Do you mean if it can restore from an external medium (e.g. harddisk)? Yes, it can.

    No. It has a menu that's rather easy to understand - see the screenshots here.
     
  8. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe


    Thank for your help. ;)
     
  9. pajenn

    pajenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    930
    You can download the user guide for your version of Acronis from their site. It should have a section called something like 'Supported file systems'. The answer lies within.

    fwiw, I often use Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Workstation (from a recovery disk only). Its user guide says the following:

     
  10. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe
    Thank to you too. ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.