uBlock Origion Block WebRTC no longer works

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ComputerSaysNo, Dec 16, 2016.

1. Tested myself against ipleak.net and it showed my I.P address in the WebRTC field.

It seems uBlock Origion Block WebRTC ption no longer works. This has not happened before.

Anyone else have this happen?

2. Objawienie

Objawienie Guest

Running uBlock Origin. Just tested at ipleak.net. In uBO Dashboard, block WebRTC must be manually disabled; it is not disabled by default.

Your IP addresses - WebRTC detection

No leak, RTCPeerConnection not available.

3. Use HenryPP's (latest chrome) chromium nosync (it is disabled in the source code).

upload_2016-12-16_8-45-21.png

4. guest

guest Guest

i use Adguard (for desktop) and no WebRTC leaking on IPleak.net.

5. guest: I have a Adguard subscription but don't currently use it. Does it specifically block WebRTC in it's settings?

6. Martin_C

Martin_C Registered Member

In Edge, in about:flags - tick the "Hide my local IP address over WebRTC connections" option.

Then no WebRTC leak.

7. Azure Phoenix

Azure Phoenix Registered Member

Yes. It's on Stealth Mode settings
    https://i.imgur.com/pHcZ5Vt.png

8. gorhill

gorhill Guest

There is no issue. You just misunderstand the purpose of the setting. Read very carefully about it:

> Prevent WebRTC from leaking local IP addresses

Emphasis: "local IP addresses". I do warn about misunderstanding that part in the documentation[1], which is linked from the Settings pane. The purpose is not to hide your internet-facing IP address, which would be nonsensical (the feature is not named "Enable VPN"), it is to hide your local IP addresses.

[1] "be cautious to not misinterpret the results of some WebRTC-local-IP-address-leakage tests found online"

9. Mr.X

Mr.X Registered Member

Thank you. Mistery solved. :D