µBlock, a lean and fast blocker

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by gorhill, Jun 23, 2014.

  1. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,827
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Good that you mention "maximize window".
    I use Firefox maximized. The uBO message is visible at zoom level 100%.
    But if I do not maximize the Firefox window, I need Firefox zoom level 90% to get the uBO message.
    Strange phenomena!
     
  2. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    5,822
    uBo has a style for this
    Code:
    @media (max-height: 640px), (max-height: 800px) and (max-width: 480px) {
      .vverbose {
        display: none !important;
      }
    }
    media is concerned to viewwindow (vw), not window size of firefox.
    is also important for android devices - waste of space.
    uBo contains a lot of more rules to fit size and colors.
     
  3. Compu KTed

    Compu KTed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Posts:
    1,411
    I want to clear ALL history when Firefox closes so Site settings remains checked. Is there
    a workaround or another alternative one can use for uBO that doesn't involve zoom setting?
     
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    10,136
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I don't see the "Do not add filters from untrusted sources" unless I adjust the zoom window for uBO Settings too, but if that's all I'm missing, I'm OK with that.

    Is there anything else that I don't see without adjusting zoom?
     
  5. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,827
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Is it that important to see that line in uBO 'My filters'?
    I don't know of any such workaround or alternative.
    It was only today that I found out the Firefox zoom level affected that line in uBO 'My filters'.
    Perhaps someone else knows.
    Maybe the code that Brummelchen mentioned can be of help, but I don't know where you can find that code and what its options are. Perhaps Brummelchen can tell you more about it.
     
  6. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,827
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    On top of the 'My rules' page, the line "List of your dynamic filtering rules."
    On top of the 'Trusted sites' page, the line "The trusted site directives dictate on which web pages uBlock Origin should be disabled. One entry per line."
     
  7. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    10,136
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    OK, got it. Not worried about any of that. ;)

    Thanks as always, @Stupendous Man .
     
  8. Compu KTed

    Compu KTed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Posts:
    1,411
    Not really that important to see uBO message line, but I just wanted to know if it was there.
    Also one can still clear all Firefox data (Site settings box checked) and have
    uBlock Origin messages appear in 'My filters', 'My Rules' and 'Trusted sites'.
    Just adjust accordingly under Zoom - Default zoom in Firefox settings under General.
    Firefox will retain that setting when you close the browser.
     
  9. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,827
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    True, but that sets one and the same zoom level for all pages in Firefox.
    If that's OK for you, that's good.
    If one wants to keep different zoom levels for different domains and different extensions, Firefox 'Site settings' mustn't be cleared.
     
  10. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    5,822
    you cant delete the code, its inside extension, and that lines only concerns that warning hint, nothing more. i wont care about this warning.
    to enable or disable it permanently, there exist no overall solution because of different UUID for each installation in firefox. for chromium based there exist neither not a solution.
     
  11. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    17,477
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    For the first time ever I saw the YouTube anti-adblocker message. But I noticed that I only see it on certain videos, not on all of them. I didn't follow the discussion a while ago, but is there anything that can be done in uBlock, what setting must I change? Actually, I forgot there is a whole thread about this, from about 6 months ago:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thr...blockers-to-push-premium-subscription.451403/
     
  12. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,827
    Location:
    the Netherlands
  13. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    162,010
    Location:
    Texas
  14. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    162,010
    Location:
    Texas
    Let's not post anymore links concerning the site in question.
     
  15. lolnothankyou

    lolnothankyou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    DisableLocation
    This problem only happens if you try to install and configure everything offline.

    1. Download:
    - FirefoxPortableESR_115.7.0_English.paf
    - ublock_origin-1.53.0.xpi
    2. Disconnect from Internet. Install them offline.
    3. Open uBlock Origin's dashboard and configure it.
    4. Connect to internet. Enjoy!

    uBlock Origin 1.54.0 and uBlock Origin 1.55.0 - the Dashboard is not loading at step 3.
    Which means you cannot configure uBlock Origin offline via the graphical interface.

    Of course, these are fresh installs, default settings each time.
     
  16. PokerNemo

    PokerNemo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2020
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    NY
    hey guys still getting this aliexpress popup from unnanmed site WHY why why is just this site im getting the pop under from
     
  17. plat

    plat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    2,233
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Well, if anyone is going to shop for recycled, "sustainable" clothing, be forewarned about this site and embedded images (or lack thereof if you have one single filter list enabled)
    https://www.outerknown.com/collections/shop-all
    The filter I had to disable by process of elimination was the EasyList--Other annoyances. Refreshing the page then allowed me to shop the really cute clothes. All the default uBO filters didn't have an effect, nor did Sandboxie. Does anyone know anything in particular about this list?

    Anyway, I'm asking because it's much more convenient to disable uBO entirely but not at the expense of something "crucial."
     
  18. nicolaasjan

    nicolaasjan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2018
    Posts:
    874
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  19. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    5,822
    the 50% plus for requests may be a matter that people do not trust the differential loading. ublock do not get 50% plus users that time. never.
     
  20. nicolaasjan

    nicolaasjan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2018
    Posts:
    874
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Isn't that due to the much more frequent updates (per 5-6 hours instead of per 5-6 days).
     
  21. max2

    max2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Posts:
    374
    Is it better than AdGuard ?

    Sorry for a stupid question :(
     
  22. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    5,822
    "better" is always a personal question.
    is it better in blocking?
    is it better to handle for me?
    is it important for me to know how a blocking extension works?
    is it important for me to alter lists?
    is it better than adguard mv3?
    is it better than ublock lite (mv3)?
    whats my browser? chrome based are ditching mv2, this extension do not work any longer and is no longer available when google unplugs mv2. firefox based are then the only browsers which can use this version of ublock only.
     
  23. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    Italy
  24. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    1,182
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    You will always get 100% with uBlock because of these (built-in) filters:
    Code:
    *$3p,domain=d3ward.github.io
    @@*$redirect-rule,domain=d3ward.github.io
    d3ward.github.io##.textads
    Don't know if AdGuard has done the same...
     
  25. SeriousHoax

    SeriousHoax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2019
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    Bangladesh
    They have not
    upload_2024-2-15_1-33-29.png
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.