µBlock, a lean and fast blocker

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by gorhill, Jun 23, 2014.

  1. rethink

    rethink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Posts:
    68
    Amazing this filter works. Thank you @wat0114. How is the whole page loading through the ad page of googlesyndication?
    I will test tomorrow @Brummelchen way of rules
     
  2. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,386
    Location:
    Canada
    That's good to know. My concern is that it might not work consistently, as happened to me. I posted an EDIT in my last post explaining this and how I fixed it. I used the logger to filter only Blocked events, then created a an Allow filter from it.
     
  3. Bertazzone

    Bertazzone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    419
    Location:
    Milan, Italia
    @rethink This works without a static filter:
    Code:
    filoitexnisfilosofias.com static.addtoany.com * noop
    filoitexnisfilosofias.com googlesyndication.com * noop
    filoitexnisfilosofias.com fonts.googleapis.com * noop
    
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2020
  4. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,789
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    BTW, I have noticed that on Vivaldi with a 1920x1080 resolution and a scale of 175%, the uBlock GUI isn't correctly resized. There is also no scrollbar, this means that you can not always block certain scripts because they are not visible. Is this a problem that should be fixed purely in Vivaldi?
     
  5. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,083
    googlesyndication is light greay here, dark grey would mean noop. i think it is filtered but not blocked here.

    to be exaxt to your concern: fonts.googleapis.com ff

    my rules contain

    * fonts.googleapis.com * allow
    * fonts.gstatic.com * allow
    * wp.com * noop

    this is set here. i faced issues when only noop, but this could be related to my other settings, because of

    Ressourcen von Drittseiten noop
    Inline-Skripte noop
    Skripte der aktuellen Seite noop
    Skripte von Drittseiten block
    Frames von Drittseiten block

    uMatrix, additional, is blocking nothing.
     
  6. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,386
    Location:
    Canada
    I had issues using only noop as well. Sometimes site rendered, sometimes it didn't. It's one of those "difficult" ones to figure out exactly, especially if one doesn't want to "Allow". I think also either Dan Pollock's or Peter Lowe's filter lists can cause problems.
     
  7. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    2,226
    Location:
    Italy
    No particular UBO settings with Chrome to open the website:

    Immagine.jpg


    In my NM28 the loading time is longer.
    But this can be attributed to many factors that are not reproducible in your modern PC.

    @ to All

    Another reason to select the lists "cum grano salis".
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2020
  8. rethink

    rethink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Posts:
    68
  9. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,386
    Location:
    Canada
    @rethink

    I find it usually doesn't render when first opening, but if I hit refresh it does. Go figure?? Is that filter still working for you?

    EDIT

    If it is still not rendering, click in the far-right cell next to googlesydication.com, then double tap the <CTRL> key, then select the green colour to allow it, and save the settings. There is something wrong when trying to create an "Allow" rule from the logger. I've tried everything, and even though I can create an allow filter, googlesyndication.com is still blocked. Seems the only way to allow it reliably is using the method I just gave you.

    So under the "My Rules pane in Dashboard, I have:

    Code:
    filoitexnisfilosofias.com googlesyndication.com * allow
    I know the developer, @gorhill , sees it as a cardinal sin to create "Allow" rules, but I see no other alternative in the case of googlesyndication.com for this site. Google, IMHO, is becoming increasingly difficult to deal with :thumbd:
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2020
  10. Bertazzone

    Bertazzone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    419
    Location:
    Milan, Italia
    I have to wait ... and wait ... and wait
    Strangely, it loaded immediately just now with only "fonts.googleapis.com" nooped (I have it globally nooped).

    Maybe I was in a re-loading loop as I inserted other rules when I first tried your site yesterday? :doubt: IDK.
     
  11. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    2,226
    Location:
    Italy
    @rethink

    Yuki2718 asks me to give you this information that I write to you:

     
  12. rethink

    rethink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Posts:
    68
    Good morning,

    thank you all for your tries and help. It is really the weirdest and most stubborn page I have seen.
    @Sampei Nihira: Please thank Yuki2718 from my side. I am still curious what makes it not load.
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2020
  13. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    2,226
    Location:
    Italy

    :thumb:



    Follow the advice of Yuki2718, purge all caches and update.
    Even in my NM28 I allow with Noscript only the script of the website for displaying images, the loading is instantaneous:


    100.JPG
     
  14. rethink

    rethink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Posts:
    68
    Yes indeed the solution works I saw the 2 filters. Interesting. I need to check the contents of the page.
     
  15. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    2,226
    Location:
    Italy
    The cosmetic filter added to the unbreak list by Yuki2718:

    Code:
    ! https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/ublock-a-lean-and-fast-blocker.365273/page-204#post-2975966
    filoitexnisfilosofias.com###af-preloader
    filoitexnisfilosofias.com##.theiaStickySidebar
    You can find it at the bottom of the list.:)
     
  16. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,386
    Location:
    Canada
    Very nice! So they are both DOM objects by the looks of it.
     
  17. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    41,835
    uBlockO legacy v1.16.4.27 Released (December 21, 2020)
     
  18. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,083
    That's why I appreciate working additional with uMatrix. Disabling uBlock and ruling it with uMatrix :D
     
  19. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    41,835
    uBlock Origin v1.32.0 Released (December 22, 2020)
    Download - v1.32.0 - Firefox (AMO)
    Download - v1.31.2 - Chrome (Web Store)
    Download - v1.31.0 - Opera (Opera Addons)
    Download - v1.32.0 - Edge (Microsoft Edge Addons)
    Download - v1.15.24 - Edge Legacy (Microsoft Store) (retired addon)
    It will take some time until the new version will be available on AMO, Chrome Web Store, etc.
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2020
  20. rethink

    rethink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Posts:
    68
    And one more question from my side: glassdoor puts an overlay when you browse reviews, although i can see them through view page source. Blocking either 3rd party or 1st party works but I cannot click on the continue reading of the reviews. I have narrowed the problem down to this:
    Code:
    www.glassdoor.com/app/static/js/dist/gd-user-hardsell-overlay.bundle.js
    but I cannot make it fully work. Any ideas?
     
  21. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,083
    you need to post a (specific) page to verify.
     
  22. rethink

    rethink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Posts:
    68
    Here you are:
    Code:
    https://www.glassdoor.com/Interview/Smarkets-Interview-Questions-E730464_P2.htm
    If you try to browse from Page to 2 to 3 at some point you will get the sign up overlay
     
  23. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,083
    Not with my settings, but i think you speak about the popup scrolling from the bottom up "Sign up for free..."

    So the upper part is greyed (opaque) and the lower is a white dialog. Your settings only filter the lower part, but not the upper part. And it's not a cosmetic filter. Is caused by a script, from cloudflare.
    Code:
    https://cdnjs.cloudflare.com/ajax/libs/react-dom/17.0.1/umd/react-dom.production.min.js
    Source may change over time:
    Code:
    https://cdnjs.cloudflare.com/ajax/libs/react-dom/*/umd/react-dom.production.min.js
     
  24. rethink

    rethink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Posts:
    68
    Hi @Brummelchen,

    indeed this works but partially because if you go to one of the interviews where it has more content and it has the button "Continue Reading" it is not clickable. If you see the page source though the text is there just covered by this "Continue Reading"
     
  25. nicolaasjan

    nicolaasjan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2018
    Posts:
    352
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Until this is somehow resolved in uBO, you might try the extension Bypass Paywalls Clean. Then it will work (including the button "Continue Reading") . :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2020
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.