µBlock, a lean and fast blocker

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by gorhill, Jun 23, 2014.

  1. gorhill

    gorhill Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    864
    Location:
    Canada
    The site is using a bait network request to figure out whether one is using a blocker. To defuse the bait network request:

    @@||looopings.nl/adsbygoogle.$script,first-party
     
  2. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    801
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks :thumb: @gorhill
     
  3. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,095
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Gorhill, can you perhaps explain to me why when you disable scripts on google.com, it will not switch to the Google Classic search engine? This doesn't happen with NoScript, and you have never been able to fix it. I still don't get it.
     
  4. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,871
    Recently I installed openSuse Tumbleweed in Virtualbox and found that some sites load in Firefox with only uB0 and uMatrix installed considerably faster than on my host system. After some experiments it seems to boil down to the fact that I didn't have the "Adguard Spyware Filters" enabled different from my host system.

    So I disabled that list on my host system, too - and voilá: Several sites load much faster, indeed :thumb:

    I'm not sure which rules specifically cause that noticeable slowdown. Can anyone confirm my findings?
     
  5. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,888
    2.812 out of 6.682 - here < 1 per cent of all. what about yours?
     
  6. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    38,090
    uBlockO v1.16.20 Released (August 26, 2018)
    Download - v1.16.20 - Firefox (AMO)
    Download - v1.16.18 - Chrome (Web Store)
    Download - v1.15.24 - Edge (Microsoft Store)
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2018
  7. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,929
    Location:
    .
    3669.png
    3670.png
    https://www.techradar.com/cc.html
    ? any ideas how to filter
    Medium mode w AdGuard filters
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2018
  8. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,332
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    I kindly consented that on Vilvaldi it automatically update. Was a little concerned at first but when checking the ABOUT seen it did indeed bring it up to this current release.

    Thanks for the update notice @mood. Always like to double check my work....and theirs too :)
     
  9. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,871
    uB0 1.16.21b2 released with the most important change being:
     
  10. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,095
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Wow, I wonder if this fixes the problem that I have with google.com, it breaks when you disable scripts from this domain.
     
  11. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,777
    Can anyone help me to block these ads on Android Police please?

    https://www.androidpolice.com/

    The top two for Qualcomm. I tried the old right click and block element. It works, but when you refresh the page they reappear.

    Thanks!
     
  12. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,332
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Hmm. I zap them with uBlockO but you're right! On a refresh, there they are right back again. I'm trying to stay sane here but this add-ons interpretations-settings chasing can be something of a task. This is out of my own element of course but wonder if you can block their domain without blocking the site too.
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2018
  13. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,777
    Yup. I wish I knew more about blocking ads on websites.
     
  14. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,216
    Location:
    Canada
    Try both of these:

    Code:
    ||www.androidpolice.com/wp-content/themes/ap2/images/ifa/2018/ifa_2018_*_*.*$image
    Code:
    www.androidpolice.com##[src="https://www.androidpolice.com/wp-content/themes/ap2/images/ifa/2018/ifa_2018_1_728x350.png"]
    Place them under: My Filters

    EDIT

    the first one only might even work
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2018
  15. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,332
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    First one only DID work on this end. Thanks for passing it along.
     
  16. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,216
    Location:
    Canada
    You're welcome.
     
  17. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,777
    Thank you very much! The first one did indeed work!

    Question: How do you learn how to write your own scripts such as this? I am sure there is a learning curve but I am curious.

    Cheers.
     
  18. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,216
    Location:
    Canada
    You're welcome. I confess, I was just playing around with the element picker when I noticed other options under Network filers and Cosmetic filters, as can be seen in the screenshot. You just have to try them one-at-a-time. Make sure you close the web page then re-open after each attempt.

    element_picker.png
     
  19. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,871
    This is actually not a script but a filter created with the Element Picker. This wiki site explains the details. You can create both network and cosmetic filters.
     
  20. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,332
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Thanks. Useful info to look at and make use of with uBlock for sure. Websites keep putting viewers off more than ever with time wasters.
     
  21. Huwge

    Huwge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Posts:
    422
    Location:
    UK
    Does anyone know where the whitelist is stored in the Firefox profile please?

    I need to import it into a new profile
     
  22. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,871
    You can navigate to the "Whitelist" tab in the uB0 dashboard and export it. It can easily be imported in a new profile. That said, in the "Settings" tab you can backup everything (not only your whitelist) and import it in a new profile.

    EDIT: I forgot to answer your question. The whitelist is not stored separately, AFAIK, but all of your settings are stored in your profile/browser-extension-data/uBlock0@raymondhill.net/storage.js.
     
  23. Huwge

    Huwge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Posts:
    422
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for the reply. I had an issue with FF and had to refresh with a new profile

    i have my old profile that FF backed up before the crash and refresh. I cant seem to find any uBO backup in it though
     
  24. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,871
    Well, it might work if you copy that storage.js file mentioned in my previous post to the new profile. I've never done that but it's worth a try.
     
  25. Huwge

    Huwge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Posts:
    422
    Location:
    UK
    All I find is a raymondhill.net.xpi file
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.