Two blue screens today with 2010

Discussion in 'Returnil releases' started by Plasma, Nov 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Plasma

    Plasma Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Posts:
    24
    Hi Mike,
    sorry to bring more bad news but today i rebooted with returnil 2010 active and as my XP machine logged off i got a BSOD, it was full of text but flashed by so fast i couldnt read it. Anyway i gave 2010 another chance and tried it again after downloading a few torrents and rebooted and it happened again.
    I am using Norton Internet Security 2010 as well and had the disk wipe function enabled.
    Unfortunatley i restored my machine using true image after the 2nd crash and have now gone back once more to the 2008 version.
    I did read something about turning off disk wipe feature but i thought this had been resolved.
    I was using the Returnil Virtual System 2010 v3.0.6517.4958-REL but i think its Returnil Virtual System 2010 v3.0.6317.4958-REL
     
  2. fosl

    fosl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Posts:
    54
    I wonder if Norton Internet Security 2010 optimize funtion may be to blame. There is an option to turn off Idle time optimization. I think Norton uses the windows defragger to accomplish its optimization.
     
  3. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Hi Plasma,
    Try changing your settings in XP so the BSOD will not cause an automatic restart of the system:

    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/helpandsupport/learnmore/russel_02may13.mspx

    If you can, try another install as before and get the exact text of the stop error and then try it again with NIS optimization turned off.

    fosl said:
    The defragmentation would be stopped by the current version of RVS. The test above however should help shed light on what is causing this to happen.

    Mike
     
  4. Plasma

    Plasma Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Posts:
    24
    Idle time option was off, i never use it. I use Perfect disk. :)

    Havent the time to reinstall at the moment. 2008 works flawlessly. I wish there was a new version just the same. :(
     
  5. asembler

    asembler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Posts:
    21
    +1
    2008 worked perfectly!
     
  6. Plasma

    Plasma Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Posts:
    24
    Hi Mike,
    it did it with version 2008 today as well , ( also had wipe enabled) the error looks the same to me and i captured it for you. Hope you can shed some light on this one.

    http://img20.yfrog.com/img20/4984/errorio.jpg
     
  7. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Hi Plasma,
    Before you try what I asked for in the PM I sent, please try the current release of 2010 again and submit the rvs3.log to the usual support address. There is additional logging capability in RVS 6517-REL that the team wants to review for this issue report.

    Thanks
    Mike
     
  8. Plasma

    Plasma Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Posts:
    24

    i will when i have time Mike. its hectic at present !! ;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.