Twister Antivirus

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by wildvirus88, May 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Filseclab

    Filseclab Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    42
    The Twister uses some API to verify the certificate digital signature, but these API may automatically connect to the Internet to verify them online, so, you will see the Twister connect to some websites like microsoft, this is normally.
     
  2. Mirin

    Mirin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    41
    What about multiuser license?
     
  3. Filseclab

    Filseclab Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    42
    We tested it has no this problem, maybe this is a individual problem, you may try to reinstall it to try again, maybe this problem will be gone.
     
  4. Filseclab

    Filseclab Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    42
    The license has the single-user license and multi-user license.

    The single-user license only allows to register one computer at the same time. The program will deregister the old computer when you to register a new computer.

    The multi-user license allows one license key to register multi-computer at the same time. For example: one 5-user license key allows you to register 5-computer at the same time. But, this type license key we do not issue now.
     
  5. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Thank you for the explanations Filseclab.
     
  6. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    755
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    Just completed a full scan and twister found this. W32.Wowinzi.A.xfxd. Twister classified this as a virus.I Googled it, but came up with nothing.This is my first virus for two years. Is this a common virus.
    Badcompany.
     
  7. HyperFlow

    HyperFlow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Posts:
    115
    this is the very same one (W32.Wowinzi.A.xfxd) it found on mine also. I looked every where and came up with nothing.
     
  8. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
  9. HyperFlow

    HyperFlow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Posts:
    115
    i think that is the ASK tool~bar that comodo added to there FW. why they done that is anyones guess i removed it also
     
  10. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    I thought about it too, but i found another post from Avira saying that it is false positive. Because i didn't install the toolbar...

    On a sidenote, yesterday it caught a spyware in Opera's cache while visiting a site for car tyres...
     
  11. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,570
    Hello Filseclab..
    I've reinstalled but it acts the same.Also Fuzzfas in post 268 confirms this behaviour on his machine ,so its not unique to my machine.I use vista premium 32.Can you confirm that you've tested on vista premium 32?.
    thanks
    ellison
     
  12. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    I run XP SP3 and observed the same behaviour... I just did it again. As a matter of fact, the blue arrow stays blue too (it should turn grey if the shield was disabled).
     
  13. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,570
    You are correct.... i hadn't noticed the sys tray icon doing that lol.Thanks for confirmation.
    ellsion
     
  14. tbay2athome

    tbay2athome Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Posts:
    38
    Tried a slightly different setup from previous that was working well.

    Windows Media Center XP SP3
    Twister
    WinPatrol Plus 2008
    Firefox with NoScript
    AdMuncher
    ***uninstalled BoClean
    ***installed ThreatFire 3.5
    About five minutes of browsing and @$#*&^!--> freeze requiring hard reboot.
    Event viewer shows nothing. Couldn't find any help with this occurrence.
    All else was the same so I blame Threatfire and it's off of this machine.
    Just a heads up to folks and as they say your mileage may vary :).

    Maybe will try DriveSentry when the new build comes out at the end of the week.
     
  15. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    FYI, i have ran Threatfire 3.0.14 with Twister with no problems. However, TF 3.5 has some issues with my PC, even before i had Twister installed.

    BUT, theoretically, it could be some other program you run. In the past, i had 2 reboots with no event logged. It was random. Then i remembered that both times, i was watching a movie and the sound was "frozen" just before the reboot. I put Zoom player in Twister's exclusion list and problem solved.

    Maybe you *could* have tried putting Threatfire's executables in Twister's exclusion list. Another possibility could be to disable Twister's process protection , as the Filseclab Representative had explained earlier. Of course it could be that this version of TF simply doesn't like your configuration (you wouldn't be the first one if you look at topic about TF) , but you could try to see if Twister can coexist with TF doing the above things.
     
  16. tbay2athome

    tbay2athome Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Posts:
    38
    I already had all of TF's executables in Twister's exclusion list. I have had issues with TF back when it was Cyberhawk and have tried it from time to time, but some sort of problem always came up. I'm not really wanting to be a beta tester for anything, so when something doesn't play nice on my machine off it goes and I keep looking for the next Holy Grail :)
     
  17. Filseclab

    Filseclab Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    42
    Please disable the realtime protection and submit the file with Twister main frame->Submission menu->Online Submit False Positive, we will check that.
     
  18. Filseclab

    Filseclab Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    42
    I tested on Vista system, it is still ok. however, we will keep to trace this problem and we will try to solve it if we can encounter this.
     
  19. Filseclab

    Filseclab Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    42
    I am sorry that I can also not make sure what happened on your system based on this information, hope you keep to try and get the way to solve it.
     
  20. Miyagi

    Miyagi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Posts:
    425
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Filseclab - Was looking at your Chinese language website and noticed a news section. Would it be possible to also add this in the English website. I am sure many non-Chinese viewers/users would be interested to know more about your product and also the malware situation in China.

    BTW (By The Way), Your English is already good enough to understand. :thumb:

    ~Link removed. See this Post.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 4, 2008
  21. tbay2athome

    tbay2athome Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Posts:
    38
    I don't think the fault is with Twister as ThreatFire didn't seem to get along with NOD32 either when I had it installed.
     
  22. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    755
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    Hello Filseclab,
    I think iv'e sent the file to you,Please let me know if you have received it.
    Badcompany.
     
  23. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
    what an interesting artcle
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 4, 2008
  24. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,339
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I know that Twister, over & above its antivirus/antitrojan module, also includes FDD System & Registry Protector modules.

    QUESTIONS:

    1) What is FDD System? A behavior blocker or what?

    2) Does Twister's antivirus/antitrojan module use heuristics? Or does FDD System displace any need for heuristics?
     
  25. tbay2athome

    tbay2athome Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Posts:
    38
    I thought I would try out the Anti-Keylogger tester from http://firewallleaktester.com/news.htm#73

    Twister went 0/7 :-(
    Mamutu 1.7 was 0/7 as well.

    If I remember correctly from a few months ago TF 3.0 caught 2 or 3 of the exploits. Also at that time A-squared free flagged the file as suspicious upon scanning.

    I'm waiting for the newest build of DriveSentry to come out in the next few days and see how it does and how it gets along with Twister.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.