Tweaking Feature in jv16 Power Tools 2009

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Escalader, Feb 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Hello:

    I have been testing jv16 Power Tools 2009 (I have a license for 2008 ) I'm on xp sp3.

    So far I like the new version. One feature I have just completed testing on my setup (your mileage may vary) is > Systems Tools >Systems Optimizer> Performance Tweaks :eek:

    The way I went at this test was One at a time over several days so that if I get a BSOD I could undo knowing the cause.

    The good news so far is NOT one tweak has failed to speed up my PC setup. I don't want to use the last tweak on clearing the PageFile on shut down since shut down is once a day only and privacy trumped this small performance gain in my security policy.

    If you don't know what your are doing on these tweaks best to ignore this post and if you do decide to proceed make sure you have solid working image backups for whole system. But we all should have that anyway.

    Attached is the jpg image of what I have done on jv16 tweaks.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I checked the first one (last accessed), but upon reconsideration unchecked it. I am thinking it may interfere with PerfectDisk Defragmentation. I do like the fact the jv16PT 2008 and jv16PT 2009 can co-exist on the same machine and the fact that the upgrade price is only $6.95.
     
  3. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    I ran a PerfectDisk defrag and all seems normal. I rebooted okay after the defrag.

    PD uses the date last modified to defrag , JV16 2009 only tweaks out last accessed. So it looks like we are okay. It would be good if someone else can confirm my test.
     
  4. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    jv16 2009 has issues imo right with a few things that 2008 did not. i went back to 2008 version myself. 2009 had issues with the software removal and also didnt like to run without changing the exe to admin priv's. but both are very good. i personally like 2008 better in almost all areas so far. jv16 is the only reg cleaner i use (2008 version)
     
  5. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    Running jv16 PT2009 here on two machines (XP SP3) and have all of the tweaks checked, other than don't clear PF at shutdown. I have no anomalies to report but have uninstalled PD 2008 and am using UD 2008.

    IIRC, PD 2008 indeed uses last modified. UD 2008, however, can use either last modified or last accessed and UD does cough up a warning, on startup, that the "last access time updating feature is turned off..." (no big deal since I just checked the "don't ask me again" box).
     
  6. Ranger Bob

    Ranger Bob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Posts:
    53
    Location:
    Florida
    I just wanted to mention that I am running jv16 version 2009 on Windows Vista and I have had many problems with it so be carefull. It seems to work great on my Windows XP machine.
     
  7. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    Thanks, I'm note surprised jv16 needs admin rights to run given it's purpose.

    What examples have you on SW removal? 2009 vs 2008?

    See you
     
  8. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Hi Bob:

    Did 2008 run in vista? I'm not on vista at all so I'm wondering if they introduced vista support with 2009?

    See you later
     
  9. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I was running 2008 on Vista. In fact, I have both 2008 and 2009 on Vista right now.
     
  10. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    I guess the question for some here (not me) is how does 2009 work on vista?

    Since vista defaults to Limited User, I would think either the user has to switch to admin rights or jv 16 2009 does that for them?

    Does anybody actually know?
     
  11. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I run Vista as an admin rather than a limited user; however, I also have UAC active. UAC pops up a challenge upon invocation of jv16PT 200x. It is not the short form challenge (as CCleaner); rather, it is the long form challenge. This is because jv16PT does not have an identified publisher (no certificate registered with Microsoft, perhaps?). I have an outstanding query with MaceCraft support regarding this.
     
  12. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Yes, I have seen that unknown publisher thing on Macecraft as well. But I assumed ( never a good idea) that MS doesn't like jv16 messing about as deep as it does in the guts of the os , register etc. But this is a wild guess, nothing more.

    I really like your idea of asking them straight out.
     
  13. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    With a certificate and with UAC on there would still be a pop-up saying a program needs permission to continue, but it would not be an unidentified program.
     
  14. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    Thanks!
     
  15. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    I left that first one and the second one unchecked from the start because, believe it or not, I occasionally get in situations where I want this information. :doubt:
    (WinXP SP3)
     
  16. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    Out of curiosity, can you give an example of a situation like that? If not no sweat:D


    I did my own choices and they are choices / user due to PerfectDisk.
     
  17. layman

    layman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Posts:
    217
    It doesn't work great on my XP SP3 machines, so I've gone back to 2008 for now. Indeed, I am ready to throw in the towel on Jouni Vuorio's work altogether. Year after year, he's releasing slightly re-worked versions of the same functionality, and every release is riddled with so many bugs it takes six months to get it to a point where it's reasonably stable. While Macecraft keeps the visible upgrade cost to a minimum, it's really not cheap when you factor in all the time wasted on dealing with the many defects. I am serious about giving up in disgust, but for anyone who wants to keep using the software, the wisest thing is probably to upgrade annually, about six months after the annual so-called release.:thumbd:
     
  18. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Well, a specific example would be something like, I have 5 rotating backups of my Quicken data files. The files are one big one and then a few auxiliary ones. If I get mixed up on when I backed up to which folder and I need to go back to a specific time, the fact that they are more than one file can reduce me to getting nervous about it, so I want to shell out to DOS or go into windows explorer and closely examine not only modification times but also access times. This could be a critical operation for me where every detail of info could count.

    As far as 8.3 names, again, sometimes I want to work in cmd shell and shortened names can make it easier. It's tough to concoct a specific example for that.

    The bottom line is that I am much more comfortable having all the information I can store on files and I have NEVER gotten a performance increase from disabling those two options that was noticeable, much less outweighed how I value the comfort factor of having too much info versus too little.
     
  19. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Thanks, I use quicken myself and I've always been uncomfortable with their proprietary backup methods. I believe those files are also encrypted so I have to be careful not to let PerfectDisk defrag them. I did that one years back and I don't want to talk about that! :eek: Also don't encrypt the encrypted files, I don't want to talk about that either.!

    Now, I use image backups for all data anyway so now I don't care what quicken does or doesn't do. Daily data backups and weekly for the C partition.

    But all this aside for your comfort best not to mess with these tweaks in jv16. It's okay for me as I can recover but if you can't forget it!

    See ya
     
  20. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Well, I certainly understand that. I manage 6 machines in my home and two get backed up every night (i.e., each every three days), they all have FD-ISR (the good one from Raxco/Leapfrog) snapshots updated daily and archived bi-daily, all documents are backed up at EVERY revision w/ AJC Active Backup, as well as most documents being synced among multiple machines. So, yeah, belts and suspenders...

    I've been using computers since the days of the Timex/Sinclair 1000 and have been every step of the way with "Brother Bill", so I guess the old DOS-centric habits die hard, especially in times of panic.:p
     
  21. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    There used to be a feature in regsupreme that allowed the user to remove every registry entry that cooresponded to a list selection of installed, or once installed applications. Is that feature present in JV26? I hope so, as RS is no more.
     
  22. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i went back totally to the 2008 version. this new one was just way to buggy for me
     
  23. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    You think that's old! :D

    I was a student working in the physics computer :thumb:lab when the COMPUTER was vacuum tube and in winter the excess heat was used to heat lecture rooms! The output from the CPU was ONLY punched cards (hanging chads) and the holes were round! To get printed results you took the cards to a stand alone punched card to paper machine. Unit record machines. We had a card sorter as well, forced us to actually know how sorting logic worked! Them was the days, no users to bother us!:D

    Enjoy the day it will not return!
     
  24. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Eh, OK, I punched the cards and fed them into the reader at Penn State myself - tons o' fun! You got me beat on the vacuum tube heaters, however...
     
  25. Ranger Bob

    Ranger Bob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Posts:
    53
    Location:
    Florida
    Yes it worked fine in 2008. Also with the updates that have come out over the past month it is seems to be working fine in Vista as well.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.