Trying to restore...

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dt11, Apr 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dt11

    dt11 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    I am trying to restore a few files from a previous backup I have made. The backup validates, but I get an error when trying to restore some files. Other files, such as music, will restore, but are corrupt (and, for example, will not play). If I try to restore an entire folder, the folder will be created, but it will be empty and I will not be able to access it. Also I am not able to delete the folder.

    Any idea as to what could be the problem?

    Thanks.
     
  2. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    What version and build of True Image are you using?

    What is your operating system? XP Home/Pro or Vista Home Basic, etc.

    Where is the backup file stored?
     
  3. dt11

    dt11 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    I am using v11 home, build 8053 on XP Pro

    I have tried restoring to the original location, and I have tried choosing a different location.
     
  4. dt11

    dt11 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    bump...
     
  5. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Can you "mount" the backup to explore it? Can you then copy and paste files from the backup to your real drive successfully?
     
  6. dt11

    dt11 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Yes, that does work. But while I can access every other file on the hard drive, the folder for my user account is empty and cannot be opened. (The folder I was trying to restore. :doubt: )

    When I browsed the archive before and tried to restore, I could see the files and folders under my user account's folder, but could not restore them. Do you think my archive is corrupt?
     
  7. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    You didn't say where you are storing the backup, so I'll assume it's on an external drive with lots of room to store another backup.

    I would make a new backup and be sure that you are making a full backup of the entire hard drive (not a system state or files and folder backup). Then mount that backup and check the files under your logon name. If everything works properly, then the original backup is bad. Why it's bad is something you can to try to determine later.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.