Trying to restore a laptop

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by mick92z, May 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mick92z

mick92z Registered Member

Hi, I am trying to restore someones laptop to its factory settings. It has a healthy recovery partition. Unfortunately being a complete novice, he never created any recovery discs. The machine has had problems. He had a rogue scareware virus recently but got rid by running system restore. The machine also more recently would not boot in any mode. I downloaded a repair disc which allowed me to run system restore. icould only go back 3 weeks, as there were no other restore points
    I believe the machine is clean ( ran MBAM, kaspersky and avira rescue discs , and HMP )
    So heres my question, to restore the pc or create any discs it clearly states on boot that you must used the advanced menu ( f 8 key ) before windows loads.
    I get the advanced menu, but there is absolutely no option to recover. It's just not there. I see all the usuals, safe mode last kown good config etc
    Has anyone heard of a virus that deletes the option to recover a machine from the advanced menu ?
    Many thanks

2. TheKid7

TheKid7 Registered Member

Who is the manufacturer of the PC? What is the Operating System?

3. mick92z

mick92z Registered Member

Hi the pc is a fujitsu siemens, Amilo Li 2727, with Vista basic. There is a pop up after booting that says, to restore the pc or create a 'one off' recovery disc/s enter the advanced menu ( f 8 ) and choose repair etc. I think creating the discs disables the pop up ( recinfo.exe, in msconfig start up )
    The discs have never been made. Fujitsu sell them for 36 euro's.
    I have also posted on the Fujitsu forum. The option to repair/recover simply does not exist where it should. Ihave tried every other f key and can find no recovery option