Try&Decide loop

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by mcitt, Apr 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mcitt

    mcitt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    I downloaded True Image 2009 build 9709 for trial.

    My OS is Vista home premium SP1 64 bit.

    I tried using Try&Decide. When I boot with Try&Decide active and select the option to continue in Try&Decide mode the computer reboots again. I must select the option to discard the changes in order to successfully boot into Windows.

    From reading this forum posts it appears that this is an outstanding problem. Is there any status regarding resolution of this problem?
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello mcitt,

    Thank you for your interesting in Acronis True Image

    By default, T&D saves the information to free space on the partition you have selected for protecting by Try&Decide. So first check whether you have enough free space on the partition/drive you have selected to save virtual changes.

    If you use Windows Vista, only the Acronis Secure Zone is available as the location to store virtual changes. So if the issue persists check Acronis Secure Zone size, if it's not the case try to rebuild Acronis Secuer Zone from the scratch.

    The issue can occur if you have Intel DP35 motherboard. It is related to improper interaction of Acronis Drive Handler with Intel DP35 motherboard. The issue is under investigation.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  3. mcitt

    mcitt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks for the response.

    There was sufficient space in the secure zone 20GB.

    My system is an i7 920 with a EVGA X58 motherboard.
     
  4. Pontiac005

    Pontiac005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    I had the same thing happen to me when I was checking out another web browser. I ended up just not activation the try and decide and installing what I needed.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for your interesting in Acronis True Image

    The issue is under investigation and will be fixed in future version of the program. You can receive Acronis' releases and special promotions information if you sign up at our web site.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  6. Joeythedude

    Joeythedude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    519
    I have an ok motherboard and free space in the ASD.

    Is the Try and Decide issue just with saving changes ?..

    So will Try and Decide always work if I discard the changes ?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.