trustport 2012 is out

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by newone, Jul 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. newone

    newone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Posts:
    61
    :) it looks great
     
  2. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  3. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Trustport always had some good and bad results. I hope that this new version has improved. LIke the GUI though. Very clean.
     
  4. sm1

    sm1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    520
    Thanks I may try it:)
     
  5. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,074
    Any changelog or it's just the name?
     
  6. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Still no custom install and engines are still AVG and Bitdefender, although listed as Xenon and Argon now!

    Unlike last version, this one will take your present activation serial.

    New feature is Application Inspector, which I believe is their HIPS/Behaviour blocker.

    Potential trial users should not be put off by the high initial CPU activity, this is just the program fingerprinting files. Once it settles down it should run very light.
     

    Attached Files:

    • TP1.png
      TP1.png
      File size:
      93.8 KB
      Views:
      2,224
    • TP002.png
      TP002.png
      File size:
      63.9 KB
      Views:
      2,230
  7. Az7

    Az7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Posts:
    139
    TrustPort Antivirus for Servers 2012 :-

    Argon = AVG
    Neon = Vipre

    aaaaaaeeeeeeffff.JPG
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2011
  8. osmandemi

    osmandemi Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Posts:
    43

    Bitdefender o_O??

    bitdefender out vipre in 2012 ??
     
  9. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    Howz this one on system resources?:doubt:
     
  10. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    I thought AVG and BitDefender were the two engines again as I saw plugins etc under their names being downloaded during the install.

    Further, looking in the Program Folder I only see reference to AVG and Bitdefender.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 13, 2011
  11. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Once the fingerprinting has finished, previous versions took up very few resources.

    CPU time and I/O Reads and Writes are generally low and it feels very light performance wise. Will report back with information about the new version after a few days.

    Presently after about two hours it still feels very light.
     
  12. Az7

    Az7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Posts:
    139
    TrustPort Internet Security 2012 uses AVG (Argon) & BitDefender (Xenon) engines.
    TrustPort Antivirus for Servers 2012 uses AVG & Vipre (Neon) engines..
     
  13. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    @Az7

    Thanks for clarification.

    Is the Server version as light as the Home version?
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2011
  14. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    Thanks @Blackcat..will give it a spin:thumb:
     
  15. Az7

    Az7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Posts:
    139
    @Blackcat

    No prob.

    I am using a trial version of TP for Servers, it's noticeably faster & lighter than TP 2011 which uses BitDefender instead of Vipre engine.

    3.JPG
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2011
  16. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Delving deeper, there are other AV engines employed by Trustport throughout its versions apart from AVG, BitDefender and Vipre.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Duradel

    Duradel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Its too expensive to consider compared to competitors. I would imagine not many people would be using it apart from trials due to the high cost per year. The costing isn't as bad as Coranti though.

    Trustport IS 2012 - $39.95 EUR or $52.77 AUD
    Coranti Antivirus - $52.97 EUR or $69.99 AUD
     
  18. Prole

    Prole Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Posts:
    36
    Installed this on my VMware machine...

    visited Malwareblacklist-dot-com

    within 2 minutes (5 urls) I was running a fake AV.

    No pop up from either the AV or Firewall.

    Not impressed.

    Runs smooth though!!
     
  19. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Worth a try? :rolleyes:
     
  20. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Agreed. I imagine that they make most of their money from the Enterprise versions.

    But I managed to get a very cheap license for the AV from Purplus about a year ago, which upgraded to the IS 2011 and then IS 2012 for free.


    @Noob

    Definitely worth a try.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2011
  21. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    AI in action.
     

    Attached Files:

  22. sm1

    sm1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    520
    Running Trustport Total Protection 2012. After initial scan the system feels light. But RAM usage is high. Its 7 processes together consume 97mb. Tried access control for volumes and directories. The permissions can be set as full, read or none. I may enable it for some folders after checking that those paths are accessible using a linux cd as I am not sure I can unlock it after my license expires or after uninstalling Trustport if I forget to remove those restrictions:p
     
  23. g_kruger

    g_kruger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Deep River, Ontario
    I have never found anti-virus software is effective at stopping Fakeware because it installs through legitimate means (tricks you into installing), however scans will sometimes pick it up and remove it. I always tell my customers to use task manager to shut down a scareware window, never try to close it with the x in the corner, because that tells it to install. If they don't know how to use taskmanager, reboot will prevent it from installing. VB100 rates Trustport as nearly the best product out there.
     
  24. thehudd

    thehudd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    56
    Gave the antivirus a shot. After about two days free space on the hard drive dropped almost 2 GB. Can't say that is common, but was my experience.
     
  25. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Anyone running the Trustport Total Protection? I made a post it's free for FB and Twitter users. On Facebook it installs a cryptogram game but I uninstalled that app after getting my license.

    Is the concensus that Total Protection uses AVG and Bitdefender engines?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.