Trusteer Rapport- any one using it?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by aigle, Sep 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    http://www.trusteer.com/solutions/home-users/online-security

    It seems good and similar to Prevx SOL. I wonder if any one using it. From the website I get the feeling that its development is stagnant now. That,s sad if it is true. They have a Mac version too that is very nice thing IMO.

    At a glance, I failed to get any info about what versions of windows and which browsers it supports.
     
  2. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Just found this in FAQs.
     
  3. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    it only scrambles keystrokes just like Keyscrambler and also have some Prevx SOL functionalities.

    AFAIK it supports IE,Chrome, Firefox, Opera

    anyway I think there's a similar thread about this.
     
  4. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    from what i gather it doesn't scramble keystroke.
    it offers protection similar to Zemana, SpyShelter and SafeOnline.
    it passes Zemana and SpyShelter tests along with a few others.
    it protects against key-screen-clipboard logging and other stuff as well. :)
    see the Trusteer Security videos down the page here:
    http://www.trusteer.com/learning-center

    i can't use it at the moment because it's not compatible with Geswall/Defensewall/Sandboxie.
    see their compatibility page here:
    http://consumers.trusteer.com/compatibility-other-security-software

    but i liked it a lot when i was using it.
    Trusteer is free and they make their money by being partners with major banks all around the world.

    i think their business plan is sound and they should be around for quite awhile.
     
  5. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    It seems poor. Spyshelter test tool bypassed it so easily. :thumbd:
     
  6. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2010
  7. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    yes i did. Can any one try as well?
    Thanks
     
  8. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    aigle,

    i'll try it later today if no one has tried it meanwhile.

    it's almost 7:30 in the morning and i could not sleep all night.
    too damn hot.
    it's raining now and i'll try to catch a few zzzz.

    l8tr m8!
     
  9. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    Trusteer Rapport does scramble keystrokes to protect against keyloggers in my tests.
    but it also have screenshot protection and also browser isolation techniques. ;)
     
  10. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thanks. Have a nice sleep.
     
  11. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    for me it was worthless wen i tried it, it didn't do anything at all, maybe it was conflicting with something but i wasn't gunna waste my time having to fix the problem

    i tried the zemana tests JUST to see if it was operational, but it didnt do anything unfortunetly
     
  12. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    ok,
    i tested and it failed miserably on both Spyshelter and Zemana test.

    like Firzen, i do not wish to investigate further as i have Zemana which passes both test.

    the 2 times i contacted Trusteer support they were very quick to answer, within the hour.
    i had contacted them about Defensewall and Geswall incompatibility.

    perhaps someone with too much free time would want to investigate with them.
    however, that hypothetical someone would not be me. :D
     
  13. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    There is a TR test on here somewhere which showed it was Very good. If you can find it, it should make you rethink ;)
     
  14. Soujirou

    Soujirou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Posts:
    62
    I've used it a few times and still would if it worked with Sandboxie.
     
  15. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    why you wil like to use it when it's so poor in its performance"
     
  16. carat

    carat Guest

    Because the advertisement is great as you can see here -http://forwardme.de/641029.go- :D
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 27, 2010
  17. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Yep,

    Plus you have to set some options manually:
    - it checks IP and certificate (set for all)
    - it bloks screenprints and encrypts keystrokes of sites (set manually)
    - shuts down unknown browser helper objects/extensions (set for all)
    - intercepts dll injections (set for all) / changes of the browser (depending on version x32 or x64) set for all
    - shuts down some potential 'spyware' holes in your browser (like not caching encrypted data, etc) - set for all

    It does some more but these are the most important. It is intended to defend from the outside. When you test something you are hitting the browser from the inside. For some one running IE8 in protected mode or Chrome's sandbox in combination with UAC on Vista/Windows 7 it is decent additional protection.

    When you run Firefox or Opera I would add Sandboxie, GesWall or DefenseWall, simply because in standard mode they run with medium rights

    For friends who have installed Safe-Admin and prefer IE8, I also setup Trusteer Rapport, simply because it shuts down some of the last holes. For people enjoying Chrome I add the PrevXFacebook Safe On-line version.
     
  18. Dregg Heda

    Dregg Heda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    Is it useful for macs. And does it work with FF and Opera on Mac? Or just Safari? Is it worthwhile getting it for a mac user? Thanks.
     
  19. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Hi Kees! ehre is this settings( to set it manually)? Thanks
     
  20. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Yes, choose more settings, you have to entere a captcha code and there you have the policy settings, choose as much allways as possible, next best is partners + own added/protected sites.

    When you are not banking with one of the banks, choose never when the above two are not available
     
  21. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Hmm...... I don,t find any thing like this.
     
  22. Dark Star 72

    Dark Star 72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    703
    Open Rapport GUI and click the 'arrow?' in the bottom right hand corner which will take you to page 2.
    Under "Security Policy" click "edit policy (for advanced users)"

    Enter Captcha code > click 'OK'

    This opens up the "Security Policy" settings page that Kees is referring to. You can then configure the settings to suit yourself :thumb:
     

    Attached Files:

  23. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Is possible to install Trusteer Rapport in only one browser?

    For instance, if i have IE8 and Chrome installed in my computer, can i integrate Trusteer only with IE8?

    Since Sandboxie is incompatible with Trusteer, i would like to use Sandboxie in Chrome, for everyday use, and Trusteer in another browser, for more sensitive browsing.

    Thanks!
     
  24. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Alex,

    It is possible when you switch to chromium or Iron (those are not supported by Trusteer).
     
  25. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Great ideia Kees!
    I could use Sandboxie with Iron, and Trusteer with Chrome!

    I´ll only have to check for two possible issues (as far as i can see):
    1- Trusteer integrates with Iron because is very similar to Chrome;
    2- Problems in running Iron and Chrome in the same system.

    If any of these problems or others occurs would be great!

    Thanks:thumb:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.