TrueImage 11 Corrupt when overwriting

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by langekg, Apr 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. langekg

    langekg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    I have discovered that whenever I overwrite an existing archive with a new one the resulting .tib is corrupt, is this a known issue?
     
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    No. I'd run chkdsk X: /r on the partition. Replace the X with the partition's drive letter.
     
  3. langekg

    langekg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    This is on about 10 different machines.
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I assume by "corrupt" that you mean it won't restore or validate successfully.

    What build of TI 11 are you using?

    What OS are you using?

    Are you backing up from Windows or from the TI CD?

    If the existing TIB file is deleted before the new backup is run, is the new file valid?

    Does this problem only show up when running tasks or does it also happen when you do a manual backup?

    Are the backups all being saved to the same place or different places (network, internal drive, external drive, etc.)?
     
  5. JRosenfeld

    JRosenfeld Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Posts:
    117
    Just a question: if you are going to overwrite an existing .tib file, why not just delete it first and so avoid the overwriting?
     
  6. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    This gets a bit more intriguing. Normally when a file is "overwritten" on a PC and most other computers, a new file is created on the disk to receive the data. After this is completed, the same filename entry is updated to reflect the location and other properties of the new file and the old filespace is marked as deleted or available to be used. In other words, overwriting a file does not mean that the original file's sectors on the disk are actually used.

    From the above, if TI is not handling the file system manipulation to update the new file's entry, then it would read incorrect sectors and the valiation would fail. Given this problem is happening on so many machines, it does seem to point back to a TI error.

    Update: I think I should be a little more cautious about saying the above is how it works period. It is how a computer does things in general but it may be somewhat risky saying this is how TI does it given the possible use of SZ, Backup Locations, and any other TI archive control mechanism.

    The suggestions to delete the file first etc should shed more light on this possibility.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2009
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.