TrueCrypt - 3 TB USB Installation Problem

Discussion in 'encryption problems' started by incurablegeek, Feb 18, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. First of all, I am new to TC, not to computers. I am only saying this so no one will think I don't know my way around Computer Management in particular or the Windows platform in general.

On this computer alone I have two SSD's (OS and Programs) and quite a number of WD HDD's. However, I only wish to use TC on my USB externals at the moment.

My first attempt at installing TC is failing miserably for the simple reason that my external 3TB USB HDD is not coming up on the TC list of volumes. Now of course I know that's because it's a 3TB volume and not a 1TB or 2TB volume.

The volume has been "prepared" in Computer --> Disk Management and can therefore be formatted as an open 3TB drive (already formatted and assigned a drive letter) or broken up into partitions (which I have not chosen to do).

So as to have "Plausible Deniability", I wanted to set up TC on the this 3TB external with a Hidden Volume that can automatically expand - expanded as needed or as I enter encrypted data in it.

Why am I posting on Wilders? Well, because you guys are nice and very tolerant (at least thus far) of my idiotic questions.

I now have an account over at the TC forums, but I'm a bit fearful that those folks might just tell me I'm a complete idiot.

Well actually I already know that. :'(

So as not to be completely helpless, I will be rooting my way through the TC PDF Manual, but I thought maybe one of the more experienced people here had dealt with this problem already.

-------------
    Oh yes, I have already been here but it is no help with a 3TB USB external hdd. http://www.ucl.ac.uk/isd/common/cst/good_practice/encrypt/encrypt/EncryptingUSBTrueCrypt

------------
    Also, your thoughts on:

1) https://www.net-security.org/secworld.php?id=9077

2) http://www.lostpassword.com/kit-forensic.htm