True Image with Dynamic Drives

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by oldgrendel, Jul 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. oldgrendel

    oldgrendel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Paradise CA
    Will any versions of True Image support Windows XP Dynamic Drives, or does anyone know of a way to convert Dynamic Drives back to Basic Drives without losing data?
     
  2. VolkerNadolski

    VolkerNadolski Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Posts:
    165
    Hi,

    dynamic discs are supported by the server editions of TrueImage (Server/Enterprise Server). You can install the server edition on a Windows XP Home/Pro.

    The "cheaper" way would be to convert your dynamic disk back to a basic disk. If you didn't use dynamic features (stripe) you can do this by "simply" use diskdirector (see below) or use a program like testdisk.

    Volker

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/archive/index.php/t-110511.html
     
  3. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello oldgrendel,

    You might want to check out this <previous thread> for details on how to convert a Dynamic disk back to Basic. Mind you, I've not tried either of them so don't shoot the messenger if it all goes wrong!! :D.

    Regards
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello oldgrendel,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please note that as VolkerNadolski said Acronis True Image 9.1 Server for Windows and Acronis True Image 9.1 Enterprise Server supports Windows LDM (also called Dynamic Disks).

    If Acronis True Image (Enterprise Server or Server for Windows) run in rescue mode (for example, booted from Bootable Rescue media), dynamic disks will be not accessible. Therefore, to be able to repair a system partition, you must keep its image on a basic, network, or removable disk.

    You can find more information about using Dynamic Disk with Acronis True Image in the respective User's Guide.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  5. evil_ryu

    evil_ryu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    If I correctly understood, the only way to do an image of a dynamic disk configured as a mirror software is to install True Image Enterprise Server on Windows. From the rescue media it's impossible to see the dynamic volumes.

    I found a problem during restoring of the image. Starting from the rescue media and restoring to an empty disk, the result is a basic volume and not a dinamic one as that of the image previously created.

    Is it normal?


    Thank you.
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2006
  6. evil_ryu

    evil_ryu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    Anyone can help me?

    Thank you
     
  7. VolkerNadolski

    VolkerNadolski Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Posts:
    165
    Hi,

    yes it is normal. The restore is a basic disc, but this disk can be converted to a dynamic disk later from within windows.

    Volker
     
  8. JohnJordan

    JohnJordan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    zI just read an article that said that one can \not convert a Dynamic Disk to Basic withoout first deleating all the volums. It destroys all the data, so it was suggested that one backup all first.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.