True Image Upgrade

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dsmail, Sep 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dsmail

    dsmail Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    I'm a registered user of TI9 Home. I have a new laptop with Vista which will require TI11 Home. Question is: will I be able to purchase the upgrade ver to 11, install ver 9 on the laptop and then apply the upgrade. Only reason I ask is that ver 9 is not compatible with Vista, but will it allow the install routine that will open the door to the version 11 upgrade? If not then I'd be forced to buy the full ver 11 at a greater cost which I'd obviously prefer to avoid if possible.

    Thanks

    Dave
     
  2. stephenrc

    stephenrc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    For versions 9 and 10 upgrades, you just needed two serial numbers. The serial from the version you're upgrading from and the new one to install the upgrade.

    The installer prompted for the old serial number after entering in the new upgrade serial number.

    Stephen
     
  3. dsmail

    dsmail Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks for the info. Further reading reveals that a clean install using the ver 11 upgrade is better than insalling over the top of ver 9.

    Dave
     
  4. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Un-install any old version before installing any new version. Save your old backup files as they are still usable. The upgrade is a standalone version but does require prior serial numbers.
     
  5. dsmail

    dsmail Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    That clarifies it. Thanks

    Dave
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.