True Image splits backup into many files?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Neilbld, Mar 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Neilbld

    Neilbld Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    I have been using Acronis True Image Home fo some time, making full backup and a weekly incremental backup Recently my hard disk had to be replaced and i restored the system successfully from the backup on an external hard disk. But - I decided to buy a new, larger, hard disk so I could do 4 full weekly backups. I did one such backup and mutliple files appeared on the new disk. I deleted all but one and tried again and the contents of the disk were shown as in the attached screen print. What is going on? Why so many files?

    Thanks for any help
     

    Attached Files:

  2. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Your external disk is formatted as FAT32, which has a 4 GB maximum file size limitation. If you want your backups to be only one file each then you need to reformat the external drive as NTFS.
     
  3. nb47

    nb47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Posts:
    183
    Sounds like they're 'FAT 32 files' -that would cause it.
     
  4. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    You can run the Windows fat32toNTFS converter utility which comes with XP to avoid reformatting and losing your current files.


    Colin
     
  5. Mysticfeat

    Mysticfeat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    I'm glad I found this on the forum, as I had the same problem. Incremental backups don't seem possible when the image has been split (in my case, into 44 files of 3.99 GB each).

    My only question is, is there a reason to stay in the FAT32 mode over the NTFS mode?
     
  6. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Not if you only use Windows. Macs can read FAT32.
     
  7. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Exactly. You would only choose FAT32 if you use the external drive with a Mac or a Linux PC that cannot understand the NTFS file system. I'm not sure if OSX can read/write NTFS or not but Linux can with the latest distributions.

    NTFS is a journaling file system and is much more robust than FAT32. It is a much better choice for your external disk unless you have a reason that you cannot use it.
     
  8. Neilbld

    Neilbld Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks to all who answered my question. External disk now successfully changed to NTFS and backup completed.

    Neilbld
     
  9. Mysticfeat

    Mysticfeat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Yes, much thank to all on the Fat32 vs NTSF.

    I will be coming here for my answers on Acronis from now on. I had emailed them back in January. It took them over a month to email me back, asking if I had resolved my problem as they wanted to close it out.:mad: It was this very problem.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.