True Image Home 2009 / restore impossible

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by GregorT, Jun 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GregorT

    GregorT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    Hi,
    if I try to restore any image I got the following errormessages:

    If I try to open the File from the GUI:
    "Das ist nicht das letzte Volumen eines Backup-Archivs"
    (I use the german version, may be the translation is like "This is not the last Volume of a backup-archive")

    If I rigthclick the file in the explorer and choose 'restore':

    "Kann das Backup-Archiv auf dem angegebenem Gerät nicht öffnen. Entweder gibt es dort kein Archiv oder es ist beschädigt."

    "Cannot open the backup-archive on this device. Either there is no archive or it is damaged."

    A look to the logfile tell me that the backup is a complete one, not an incremental.

    I have 10 backupfiles, this error occurs with 9 from then...

    OS: Vista 64bit


    Can anyone give me a hint?

    Gregor
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    What build of TI 2009 are you using?

    Are the images located on the same drive or different drives?

    Are the images on an internal or external drive? If external, is it USB?

    If you've been trying this in Windows, do you get the same error message if you boot to the TI CD and try it?
     
  3. GregorT

    GregorT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    Thanks for your very fast reply!

    The Product Version is 12.0.0.9646.4

    normaly they are on an network drive (NAS), but I also try to copy them to my local D: drive.

    see above.

    I haven´t try the boot CD right now...I can do this soonest at the weekend..
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Are the images one file per backup or are they being split due to size limitations on the NAS (2GB splits, for example)?

    What are the filenames of the images?

    Do you have the problem if you create a backup directly to the local drive?
     
  5. GregorT

    GregorT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    no split. one file

    something like yyyymmdd.tib e.g. 20090625.tib

    ouuh...I don´t know if I tried out this...I have to clean up my local disk just to copy one image for the restore-tries..it´s a laptop, the size of one image is about 120GB, size on local drive D: ist 149GB
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Since you're using numbers at the end of the image filenames, have you tried renaming one of them to something else? Something like BackupImage.tib instead of 20090625.tib? (Make sure to remember or write down the original filename so you can name it back if it doesn't work.)

    This shouldn't make any difference if they're in separate folders, but if they're all in the same folder, it might.
     
  7. GregorT

    GregorT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    nice try.... :)

    ..with the same result.:(
     
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    What's different about the one backup out of the ten that doesn't give the error?

    Are you using the same build of TI now that was used to create the images?
     
  9. GregorT

    GregorT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    nothing I know ...

    Sure, I can make a backup today and try it directly. Same result.
     
  10. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Do you have consolidation enabled?
     
  11. GregorT

    GregorT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    everything concerning the consolidations is initial.
     
  12. GregorT

    GregorT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    The results from the weekend:

    backup from local drive C: to local drive D:
    -restore is possible
    backup from local drive C: to network drive
    -restore is not possible not either after I moved the file to the local drive o_O
    backup C: and D: to an USB device
    -restore is possible

    So the problem seems to be the NAS. It´s a Buffalo drive station, the connection is done with an admin account.

    I´m confused...

    Gregor
     
  13. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Can you possibly create a smaller backup image so you could run a test without it taking too long? Maybe exclude some large files or folders or backup another partition that's smaller.

    What happens if you have TI split the image into 2GB or smaller splits?

    If you have a good local image (on D: or the USB drive, for example) and copy it to the NAS and then copy it back, does TI give the error?
     
  14. GregorT

    GregorT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    I´m only at home at the weekends, working outside the whole week. So I can test everything related to the NAS only at the weekend.

    I also tried to make a backup from the MS SQL2005 server to the NAS, there is no problem with the restore. The NAS itself seems to work fine...

    Thank you for your replies, now we have to wait a few days....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.