True Image Home 2009 and Windows 7

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by E-Buzz, May 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. E-Buzz

    E-Buzz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Posts:
    109
    Dont know if it is OK to ask a question regarding TI Home 2009 and the upcoming Windows 7 OS? I´ve installed the RC just recently released to Technet subscribers of various kind, and i installed TI Home 2009 without any problems. It seems to function OK but i´ve not done any extensive testing.

    One thing i found out though is that i was not able to mount created backup images (full disk) as a virtual drive with its own drive letter. It paused dutring operation and then displayed an error message saying it was not possible to assign drive letter. Anyone else tested this?

    Are Acronis planning any update that officially supports Windows 7, even if the operating system is still in RC state?
     
  2. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    E-Buzz:

    Image mounting (and all other features) worked for me with TI 10 build 4942 and the Windows 7 Beta build 7000. Just last night I tried TI with Win7 RC1 and discovered that while the program worked, image mounting did not. For me, TI would lock up immediately if you right-clicked on an image file and chose "Mount". Trying to mount an image from TI's GUI produced the same result, so perhaps image mounting is one of those features that will need to be fixed to be compatible with Windows 7 Release Candidate. My testing is only preliminary, however. I need to try again with a clean install of the Release Candidate and a new installation of TI before jumping to this conclusion, however. My test was with an upgrade install of RC1, which is not recommended by Microsoft.
     
  3. E-Buzz

    E-Buzz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Posts:
    109
    Your results sounds very similar to mine, so i have to agree that image mounting is one of the things that needs an overhaul.
     
  4. shinji

    shinji Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    I get similar results as well. For me it reports that it failed to assign a drive letter but I found that I can open the image. However extracting files from the image is slow and cumbersome and explorer crashed alot using it.

    Windows 7 Build 7100 Release Candidate downloaded Via TechNet. System was a Gateway P-7805u (Bestbuy model)
     
  5. hexmaniac

    hexmaniac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Using ATI 11 Build 8101 with Windows 7 RC Build 7100. No problems mounting images or browsing. Copying files was quick and I had no problems. I copied about 25GB of data from my image. This was a clean install of the Windows 7 RC.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2009
  6. E-Buzz

    E-Buzz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Posts:
    109
    Sorry for my ignorance, but is version 11 older than the 2009 version i´ve purchased? Or is it the same?
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    TI 11 is the version just before TI 2009. If Acronis had used the same naming method, TI 2009 would have been TI 12.
     
  8. E-Buzz

    E-Buzz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Posts:
    109
    Thanks for answer!
     
  9. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Image mounting works fine from a clean install of Win7 RC1 x64.
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello E-Buzz,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis True Image

    Officially Acronis True Image Home 2009 doesn’t support Windows 7, probably next version will do. Try to do the following:

    Make sure that Acronis True Image Backup Archive Explorer is Enabled in Device Manager (Right-click on MY Computer -> Properties -> Hardware -> Device Manager -> Unfold Acronis Devices -> Right-click on Acronis Devices -> Select Acronis True Image Backup Archive Explorer -> Choose Enabled).

    Also make sure that TimounterMonitor.exe process launched (ctrl+alt+del -> task manager -> processes). TimounterMonitor.exe process monitors the mounted images and constantly checks if there is enough space on the storage to save all the changes made to the sectors of the mounted image.

    Make sure that the hard drive doesn’t have file system errors or bad blocks. Do the following to check the disks for errors:

    - Go to the Command Prompt (Start -> Run -> cmd)
    - Enter the command: "chkdsk DISK: /r" (where DISK is the partition letter you need to check) for every partition that is visible in My Computer. Please note, that checking the C: drive may require you to reboot the machine.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.