True Image Home 11 RAID Problems

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Anguel, Sep 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Anguel

    Anguel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    57
    Hello!

    Because of the good reviews I decided to switch from Norton Ghost to True Image. A few days ago I bought TI Home v11 Build 8.027 online and ordered the program for 6 other PCs from an internet store! Now I am very disappointed.

    I installed True Image Home 11 on a brand new Dell Vostro 200. Its SATA controller is set to RAID mode in BIOS and identifies itself as "Intel ICH8R/ICH9R SATA RAID Controller" in Windows XP. The two identical drives in the Vostro are running as NON-RAID. I created the TI RescueCD and tried to boot from it but the following error appears:
    Code:
    Acronis Loader: No configuration file present.
    Press <ENTER> to reboot...
    
    This means TI does not start at all in Rescue Mode!

    Well, I thought it may be the case because the ICH8R/ICH9R controller is so new. I have an older Intel board (D945GNTLKR) with ICH7 controller identified as "Intel 82801GR/GH SATA RAID Controller" in Windows XP. This controller is also set to RAID mode in BIOS and has two drives set to a RAID1 array as well as a third NON-RAID drive. When I boot from my TI RescueCD, True Image starts but it sees only the third NON-RAID disk. The RAID1 disks are simply not there.

    As I can read in other posts TI 11 seems to be a real "downgrade" when using RAID and I am completely disappointed :(

    Anguel
     
  2. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    I think there is a new version of linux being used for restore. At least Acronis is aware of the RAID prob and wroking on it.
     
  3. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Yeah its a big problem that 11 can't even read ICH5R Raid which is what I use. Guess I am not upgrading any time soon.

    dja2k
     
  4. Anguel

    Anguel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    57
    Are they doing any beta-testing at allo_O There is hardly any board without RAID these days... :mad:

    I hear there is also no BartPE plug-in for v11? So the thing is really useless at the moment if you are not using antique IDE mode :(

     
  5. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    I don't really understand why big companies go change things when they were working fine. I say, "If it ain't broke don't fix it." They just cause problems within themselves and to others while loosing customers along the way.

    Anyways, Acronis is good at their customer service, they won't let anyone down. Well at least I hope not cause I sure am looking to see a fix for version 11 soon.

    dja2k
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2007
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    There are two BartPE plugins available for TI 11.

    You can log into your Acronis Account and submit a Support Request asking for their BartPE plugin.

    Or, you can purchase mustang's plugin for a small fee here.
     
  7. Anguel

    Anguel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    57
    Thanks for that info. Is there any difference between the different plugins? I have not used previous versions of TI so I don't have any experience with those plugins.

     
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    I have never used the Acronis BartPE plugins. I have always used mustang's. He has supplied fixes, etc. that Acronis seems very slow (or unwilling) to implement. Also, his plugins allow mounting of images in BartPE.

    There is a lot of information in this thread if you want to browse through it.
     
  9. StardustOne

    StardustOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    Raid controllers with the ULI chipset are not supported either. My board uses an ULI M1575 chip based RAID controller. I have set a Raid 0. TI 11 and TI 10 do not see the Raid.

    I refuse to play around with any plugins. Acronis should fix this asap. I paid for the product and now this. Either fix it or return the money.

    Don't they do any beta testing before they release their products into the wild?

    Besides, what's the purpose of the rescue boot CD if it can't read any decent Raid controller settings??

    I am also very disappointed especially to hear that the newest intel raid controller is not supported either (I just bought a new Asus P5K-E motherboard yesterday).
     
  10. Anguel

    Anguel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    57
    Thanks for the thread. Mustang should get money from Acronis for making their products usable.

     
  11. visch1

    visch1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Posts:
    28
    I don't really understand why big companies go change things when they were working fine.

    $$$$$$$ = GREED which seems to be the American business way of doing things.

    I say, "If it ain't broke don't fix it."
    Too big of a concept for MBA capable minds.

    They just cause problems within themselves and to others while loosing customers along the way.
    They don't know of the concept of : keeping old customers cost pennies, getting new ones cost many $$$

    Anyways, Acronis is good at their customer service, they won't let anyone down. Well at least I hope not cause I sure am looking to see a fix for version 11 soon.

    What happened to the fix for TI10? OH now I get it, divert attention.
     
  12. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Well I am not worried for a fix on 10 cause it is working flawless on my computer :D LOL!.

    dja2k
     
  13. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    They're still apparently quite lost on the RAID issue, if Tech Support replies are any indication. When id doubt just give the user an onerous task which isn't expected to produce any useful or used information anyway.

    I've been with Acronis for several years but I"ve had it up to here with these critcal failure x.0 releases and Acronis Tech Support pretending it's some special problem I have because of my purportedly weird and unique software.

    Some years ago Union Carbide and Macneil both suffered terrible marketing probs with, in the first case the Bhopal mass posioning incident (Union Carbide) and the Tylenol Murder. Union Carbide kept trying to hand waive the whole thing away, then minimize it, then minimize it's liability. They justly suffered and the CEO almost ended up in jail in India.

    Macneil, said they'd try to find out how the poison got into the Tylenol bottle but irrspective, they were recalling all bottles and wouldn't sell any more until they could assure customer safety.

    Acronis is a lot more like Union Carbide. The drsobs.

    They should recall 11; then anyone that wants a refund doesn't have to jump through hoops to get it. Those that are happy with 11 can keep it. But, imo, the product is not fit for the basic purposes for which is has been offered for sale.

    Even if they fix 11, I don't think I want to do business with an outfit that behaves the way Acronis behaves.
     
  14. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Well it looks like either you stick with what you have working (ATI 10 for myself) or find an alternative products to update to that is not True Image 11. :D

    dja2k
     
  15. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    "Not Fit For The Purpose" is a phrase that springs to mind from my long past days of study. Fit for the purpose it certainly is not. I have to take some time out to compile the numbers for my tax return to meet the 30th September deadline so I will not even attempt to remove V 11 at this stage just in case it collapses my machine which is a distinct possibility.
     
  16. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Amen. Acronis no longer deserves users' money. Once I thought Acronis did and I recommended the product to many clients. Now, they are on the other list.

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.