True Image Build 859

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by beenthereb4, Jun 8, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    It's out!
     
  2. MiniMax

    MiniMax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Posts:
    566
    Yeah, but is it in and hip?
     
  3. PaulB2005

    PaulB2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Posts:
    525
    I'm signed up for notification - why no e-mailo_O?

    Just double checked the settings and i should be getting notification on this product!
     
  4. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    Ilya, you should send MiniMax a free upgrade to version 8 for all his help on the forum! He'll be even more useful when he has the current version.
     
  5. manuangi

    manuangi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    Italy
    what's the changelog, please?
     
  6. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    Last available update: build #859, 2005-05-24. Get update.
    Changes:

    Better hardware support
    GUI fixes
    Disk clone wizard fixes
    Acronis True Image sheduler fixes
    Acronis True Image mounter fixes
     
  7. Wouldn't it be nice, if like in the GOOD OL' DAYS, software developers could keep an open BUG list, and change logs would reflect WHICH BUGS are actually fixed in new releases,..


    ... INSTEAD OF THESE GENERIC "WE FIXED SUMTHIN" logso_Oo_O
     
  8. MiniMax

    MiniMax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Posts:
    566
    You mean like this?

    See? The art of writing useful Release Notes is not dead yet. Makes it easy for sys-admins like me to determine if & when to install an upgrade.
     
  9. mark7

    mark7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Posts:
    110
    ... now if the webmaster could only update the release DATE to 08 Jun? ;)

    ... you are not alone, PaulB2005. Granted, this release has only been out for less than a day now, but I've had the same issue before not getting update notifications for my registered Acronis products. I reported this to Acronis support and was supposedly fixed? I rely mostly on WebMon http://www.btinternet.com/~markwell/webmon to monitor web pages for new versions of Acronis (and other s/w I have). There are other web page monitor softwares out there.. WebMon is freeware.

    ... love that changelog MiniMax!!! Currently, I have to "beta" test each release of TI (and PE) to determine what will now work on my system (that didn't), and what now does not work (that did).
     
  10. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,400
    Location:
    California - USA
    Same problem here, no update notice on this build (yet), although I did receive a notice for the prior build (826)!

    We need to demonstrate more patience... I guess. ;)
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2005
  11. MiniMax

    MiniMax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Posts:
    566
    ... demonstrate more patience... Or just demonstrate!
     
  12. Jelorian

    Jelorian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    I just used Build 859 to image a Dell 370 up to another system on our network. It was a brand new system straight from Dell. I went through the whole Windows Welcome prompts and then installed Office 2003. I then made sure all updates were made to both the OS and Office 2003. I then uploaded images of the 370 to another system on our network.

    Previously I had a problem with Build 774 not finding hard drives on my 370, but that seems to be fixed in this latest build.

    Some interesting things I noticed. Now I've only been using this software a few days so I'm not sure if these things are supposed to be this way or not. I haven't had time to really dig in and RTFM. In anycase, TI won't authenticate to a Windows domain in order for you to access network shares. I have domain administrator rights on every system here at our office and I was unable to put the system image anywhere as myself. I had to create a LOCAL user on the system I was going to put the images on and then create a share and grant myself full control of the share. Only then was I able to upload the system images to the share.

    I should have timed the whole procedure. I guess I'll do that the next time I try it.
     
  13. mhtaylor

    mhtaylor Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Posts:
    45
    Good one, MiniMax!
    Malcolm
     
  14. TonioRoffo

    TonioRoffo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Posts:
    237
    Scheduler and mounter fixes! Great stuff. I hope the enterprise and workstation builds are following shortly! :D

    I have about one week to decision time about which product is going to be our standard product for the clients. Livestate, TI, or the (for a one man project) incredible Drive Snapshot, at 1/10th the cost of the competition.
     
  15. jimshu1

    jimshu1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Posts:
    63
    Build 859 finds my USB mouse again, after booting from the Rescue CD. Lost this in build 826, but had it before.

    Thanks!
     
  16. PaulB2005

    PaulB2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Posts:
    525
    Ah now when i said i didn't get the e-mail i was under the impression that the release date was over two weeks old......
     
  17. DonKid

    DonKid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    566
    Location:
    S?o Paulo, Brazil
    What to say about Acronis ?

    Still in the top, making the others companies, eating dust. :D :D :D

    Keep the good job.
     
  18. Jelorian

    Jelorian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    It seems to recognize my USB keyboard as well.
     
  19. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    "mounter fixes" -Hmmm, so the mounter was fixed but not checked very well.
     
  20. sandokan

    sandokan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Posts:
    112
    Does the boot CD boot faster than previous versions? I'm still using build 791 as it works beautifully, but I wouldn't mind if it booted faster (right now it takes ~15 seconds). I'd like it to be almost instant (I know, dream on...).
     
  21. TonioRoffo

    TonioRoffo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Posts:
    237
    @Sandokan,

    You should try LiveState recovery (WinPE based) - you'd go craaazy :D

    It takes about 5 minutes and you need 256MB to boot.
     
  22. MiniMax

    MiniMax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Posts:
    566
    Maybe it was "fixed" the way you can "fix" a dog or a cat, e.i. after "fixing" it does not work any more :blink:
    Eh - thanks but not thanks :p Seems like my trusty 6.0(350) works better than 8.0 (859) :D
     
  23. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    Oh, come on --- suffer along with the rest of us! Maybe you can make it work.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.