True Image And Dual Boot

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Sam49, Sep 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sam49

    Sam49 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Posts:
    29
    Hi can anyone please help i am running a dual boot system with Windows XP pro and Vista Premium and the same drive but on differant partitions.

    All works ok and i can make a backup of my computer but i have to make the backup of the XP partition and then switch to the Vista partition both these create a good working backup.

    The problem is when i restore ether of these backups it wipes out the vista master boot record and will only boot into xp untill i boot with my vista cd and repaire to boot sequence.

    So my question is is there any way i can backup the complete hard drive both the XP and Vista partition and the master boot record, so when i want to restore a backup it restores bot partitions and the boot record with out loosing any data.

    I have just had my hard drive wiped clean by trying to restote the partition seperatly

    Hope some onecan help

    Regards to you all
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    If you backup the Entire Disk (check the Disk # checkbox), then you'll have the complete disk image including all partitions.

    When you restore, choose to restore the Entire Disk (check the Disk # checkbox). This will restore all partitions back like they were. Since this works with Vista, I don't see why it wouldn't work with Vista and XP.

    If you restore the partitions separately (like you are), you'll run into the problems you're having. Using a third-party boot manager instead of Vista's would probably also avoid them. Vista's boot manager is very touchy. If a partition changes it just loses track of it.
     
  3. Sam49

    Sam49 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Posts:
    29
    Thank you for the quick reply i am at the moment reinstalling all my software as my last attempt at restoring the partitions seperatly somehow made both patritions corrupt and i lost every thing and i will not trust it do do the same again if i try another restore

    I am not sure i have seen the ability to backup the entire hard drive including the master boot reord but i will have a look when i get it working again

    Thank you
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Assuming you are using a later build of TI 9, TI 10 (TI 11 is probably the same, but I haven't checked) the MBR is always included in the backup image, even if you only backup a single partition. It's just not displayed in the backup window for selection.

    When you choose to restore an image, it is displayed in the list.

    The problem you're having is not caused by the MBR not being restored. It's caused by how TI restores the partitions and how the BCD file is not updated.
     
  5. Sam49

    Sam49 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Posts:
    29
    Hi thanks for the information i have now got my true image version 10.0 (build*4,942) thats the lastet update avalible to me and now i can see the disk option now its just above the two partition i had before backed them up seperatley but i see now if i tick the disk box they are both selected.

    I will give this a try and see if it works.

    Do you have anyadvice on wich operating system i should be in ie the Xp or the vista.

    Lets hope this works as i am a bit reluctant to do it just in case it all stuffs up again

    Regard for the help
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    It should not make a difference which OS you're booted into. However, if you have problems creating the backup image in Vista (for example), then boot into XP and create it.

    I have done multi-boot backups from Vista, XP, BartPE, Full Mode, Safe Mode and all have been okay.

    So, if you don't want to do it from Windows, boot to the TI CD and create the backup from there. If you have room, maybe make an image from Windows and an image from the TI CD. Then test the restores and find out if they both work correctly. I can understand your reluctance, but it's better to find out before than after a disaster.
     
  7. Sam49

    Sam49 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Posts:
    29
    Thanks again you have been a real help thank you.

    I was not aware you could make an image both from windows and from the TI cd.

    I have plenty of room for the backup i have a 500 Gb usb external hard drive so i will try both methods.

    I am reluctant as it has taken me 48 hours and i have only just got my Xp partition back up and running and now i have to install all my applications back on.

    What i am most upset about is i have several backups but i has made individual partitions i suppose you are right better now than later when i have spent time reinstalling every thing.

    Its just i dont trust TI after a major disastor like i have just had

    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.