True image 9 on more than one pc

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by snowwolf, Mar 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. snowwolf

    snowwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Is it possible to put the true image I purchased from Acronis on two pc's IE my laptop and my desktop?
     
  2. Mem

    Mem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    292
    If you buy two copies of the software you can. From the EULA:
    "2. The original purchaser can use the software on a single computer. You cannot use the software on more than a single machine, even if you own or lease all of them, without the written consent of Acronis."
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello snowwolf,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Mem is right. Please be aware that according to Acronis software licensing policy, you should purchase one copy of Acronis program per every computer where it will be used.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  4. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    If I buy one copy of TI9, is there a discounted license to install on a second PC, or do I have to pay for a whole addition copy? Right now, I run Ver 8 on one PC and Ver 9 on another. I would like to install Ver 9 on both.
     
  5. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954
    Hi TheWeaz,

    In my opinion, if you purchased the TI9 license at a discount, upgrading from TI8, you have gone one computer too far already.

    If you purchased a full price TI9 licence, your original TI8 licence should be still eligible for upgrade. About 5 months ago I upgraded from TI7 to TI9 at 40% discount. As far as I know it was a regular offer, albeit I was notified of it by Acronis via e-mail.
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello TheWeaz,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    bVolk is quite correct regarding our upgrade policy. As for the volume pricing, discounted price usually starts from 10 licenses and depends on the amount of copies you plan to purchase. We also provide special pricing for educational and non-profit organizations. Please contact our Sales Team at sales@acroonis.com for details.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  7. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    Nope, sorry, can’t accept that, not for a minute.
    I paid for Version 8, which came with a license that said I could only use it on one computer. I only use it on one computer.
    I paid for Version 9 which also came with a license – one computer. I only use it on one computer.
    The Builds are free (as they should be) and can only be used on the system where the original Version has been installed. But the purchase of a new Version (even if on sale) carries no such restriction. That would be the same as going to CompUSA, buying 2 copies of TI, and then being told they have to be installed on the same PC.
     
  8. aoz

    aoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Posts:
    223
    sorry to disagree,
    but if the TI9 was at an UPGRADE price, from the TI8, then it is generally assumed that this is an UPGRADING of that license, NOT a new license.

    However, if the TI9 price was a SALE price for a current owner, as a NEW license, then that would be similar to your store scenario of having two separate products.

    It depends upon what the terms of the sale were when you purchased the TI9.

    Just my two cents
    Nick
     
  9. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I agree with your disagree. A license and all subsequent upgrades is still just one license.

    My beef with the licensing structure is that it is failing to take into consideration the blossoming family enivronment where there is more than one PC but typically less than say 5 residing in the same location. I have seen one software company, Picajet, that offers a very attractive personal "Family" license for their photo software. I believe it is up to 5 installations in the same family for the price of 2.

    Clarification (added later):

    My comment about licensing structure is about licensing in general, not Acronis in particular.
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2006
  10. aoz

    aoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Posts:
    223
    Then it might be better to address it that way, rather than as a beef.... (pleasant tones help :) )
    I would agree with you that it is an area to consider.
    Example, Grisoft, AVG Antivirus, has license for up to 5 users, for 2 years each, as a package.
    I bought this package (I don't use their freeware version) because I value an alternative to Norton, and don't mind supporting a company that has a good alternative.

    Acronis might find it worthwhile to consider a family-package price, but on the other side of the coin, the prices aren't too unreasonable.
    BUT, then again, there are families with 5 computers running, and it does get to be a cost concern when backing up all these machines with an imaging product.

    Again, just my two cents.
    Nick
     
  11. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    In the most pleasant of tones … :)

    No company, including Acronis, ever offers a discounted upgrade because of an overwhelming fondness for their customers; they do it to prevent losing customers.

    If a company were to say “Here’s a new version. It fixes some of the bugs in the version you’ve already paid for, along with new features (you may or may not need or want), and some GUI enhancements. Now, pay us the same full price you paid for the last version (possible only weeks ago), which by the way, … we will no longer support”, users would be leaving in droves for other venders. Most companies have learned that the best business model is to give customers free updates and, when support for a product is pulled, offer reduced pricing on the replacement.

    If I was offered a discount to remain an Acronis customer, no where was it stated that by using that discount, my EULA for the newly purchased product would be more restrictive than that of any other purchaser.

    “The original purchaser can use the software on a single computer.”

    I *purchased* Version 8 (which is no longer supported) and use it on a single computer.
    I *purchased* Version 9 and use it on a single computer.

    I had asked about discounts for multiple systems. I am told I can’t use Version 8 anymore because I purchased Version 9. Sorry …
     
  12. Mem

    Mem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    292
    I'm not sure I understand this - did you purchase an upgrade from a previous version to obtain version 9? That seems to be the question that impacts the answer.
     
  13. Ozmaniac

    Ozmaniac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Posts:
    254
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    As AOZ and others have said, it all depends on whether the v9 was an upgrade (at a special upgrade price) or an additional license. You can tell which of these you have by considering the serial numbers. If for a reinstallation of the v9, you need to enter both the v8 and v9 serials (unless v8 is already on that machine), then it is an upgrade and you only have one license in total and can only image one PC.

    The suggestion of multi user licenses for ATI Home 9.0 (note the recent subtle name change) is a good one and perhaps Acronis should consider adding something like that to their range, but until they do, it's one license for each machine and an upgrade is not a new license - it's just an extension of the original one.:cool:
     
  14. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    The only thing entering the serial number for Version 8 does is prove you purchased Version 8 and are entitled to the discount – nothing more. If Acronis offered a discount for Power Utilities 2005 to all current TI users, they might ask for the serial number to TI in order to prove you are eligible. It by no means stipulates that you must stop using TI to get a Power Utilities discount.

    I’ve been given “my opinion”, what is “generally assumed“, and after the fact “upgrade policy”, but unless I can be pointed to something concrete, the rest is meaningless. If possible, could somebody point me to the place in the purchasing/installation process where it states that “you cannot continue to use Version 8 now that you’ve purchased Version 9”? I did not see that anywhere.

    I had a new PC on its way and since the dust had settled after the, IMHO, rushed release of Version 9, I figured I’d give Version 9 a shot. Now I’m being told that I can no longer use software that I have paid for. Again, sorry … don’t spit on my doughnut and tell me it’s frosting …
     
  15. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I'm feeling a bit like Dick Cheney, not really sure just what we're shooting at anymore, but the way I see it:

    If you have V8 and buy V9 at the upgrade price then you can run V9 on the PC. You cannot run V9 on the PC and run V8 on a different PC. To do that you would have had to buy a full, not an upgrade, licence for V9.

    I think it is permissible to run V8 on the PC by removing V9 and putting V8 back.

    This is typical of most PC software licensing. In the Microsoft case, if you buy retail W95, upgrade to retail W98 and then upgrade to retail XP all media are to be kept and if the software is sold all 3 media are to be given to the purchaser since W95, W98 and XP are considered one license. You may not split them apart and run each on a different PC.
     
  16. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954
    I suppose it would be legal even to have both V8 and V9 installed simultaneously on the same dual-boot PC, for such comparisons perhaps as we have often seen reported here, or for better matching to different external drives, say.
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2006
  17. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    It really is difficult to see why a company would be concerned about you selectively running either V1 or V2 on the same PC when you paid for both the original and the upgrade. This is my opinion only.
     
  18. Ozmaniac

    Ozmaniac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Posts:
    254
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    As far as Acronis is concerned, you could have half a dozen copies of the same license in different partitions on the same machine. That would not be illegal in any way. The license is for use on a single machine and they would all be on the same machine.:cool:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.