True Image 8 build 768 and Via 8237 SATA RAID

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by tonyski, Jan 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tonyski

    tonyski Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    Greetings all,

    I have a new ASUS K8V SE Deluxe motherboard which has a VIA VT 8237 chipset supporting SATA RAID 0 or 1

    I need to transfer data from my old 250 GB SATA hard drive to a new 2 drive SATA RAID 0 array on the new computer.

    To complicate matters, the drive with the data is one of the 2 drives that will be joined to create the RAID array.

    It seems to me that I should be able to create a drive image to an external firewire drive with no problem. What I don't know and can't seem to find out is whether or not True Image 8 build 768 will allow me to restore the drive image from the external drive onto my newly created VIA VT8237 RAID array?

    Any help or comments will be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks
    Tony
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello tonyski,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/).

    Your method is acceptable in general. Please note that if you want to transfer your system to another hardware configuration you need to sysprep your system and create image when booting from Acronis Bootable CD.

    However we have some problems with VIA 8237 when booting from Acronis Bootable CD. We expect the problem of the performance speed to be solved soon. That is why we suggest you to wait a little bit while our Development Team fix the bug.

    Also please note that the latest build of Acronis True Image is 786 which is available at http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/updates/.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2005
  3. trichard

    trichard Guest

    The soon ....is already a few months already......
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello trichard,

    We do apologize for the probelm with VIA drivers. Our Development Team is still working on it. As soon as the problem is fixed it will be announced at this forum.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  5. kevins

    kevins Guest

    Is this working now!?!
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
  7. lg777

    lg777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Is this resolved in version 8 latest buid?

    I have the same problem but it just hangs when restoring image. Moving mouse doesn't help.

    By the way, I'm doing this on Windows XP SP2...is this a problem on Linux as well or both?
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2005
  8. Euser

    Euser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Posts:
    32
    The alternative fix would be to try the Bart's plugin with a boot cd like www.ubcd4win.com. This runs under a windows environment and is less likely to encounter the driver issues present under the linux boot environment. Good luck....
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello lg777,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We regret to inform you that our Development Team is still working on the issue with VIA drivers.

    However, we recommend you to download the latest update (937) of Acronis True Image 8.0 in order to see how it works on your computer in Windows.

    Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

    Thank you.
    --
    Tatyana Tsyngaeva
     
  10. lg777

    lg777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    I have the latest build for version 8. Will this work in Version 9 though?
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello lg777,

    Actually, the problem is that the image restoration process goes rather slow when using Acronis True Image Bootable Rescue CD on computers with VIA RAID controller. However, it should not hang at all.

    Could you please download and install the free trial version of Acronis True Image 9.0 and create new Bootable Rescue CD?

    Please do the following for both Bootable Rescue CD created using build 937 of Acronis True Image 8.0 and Bootable Rescue CD created using the free trial version of Acronis True Image 9.0 (build 2302):

    - Boot from the Acronis True Image rescue disc and press F11 key when...

    For version 8.0: when the "Starting Acronis Loader..." message appears;

    For version 9.0: when the selection screen appears;

    - After you get the "Linux Kernel Settings" prompt, please remove the "quiet" word, click on the OK button and wait for # prompt to appear. Please insert a diskette in a floppy disk drive.

    - Issue the following commands:

    cd tmp
    mkdir mntdir
    mount /devfs/floppy/0 mntdir
    lspci > mntdir/lspci.txt
    sysinfo > mntdir/sysinfo.txt
    umount mntdir

    - Collect sysinfo.txt and lspci.txt files from the diskette;

    - Rename these files to sysinfo_937.txt, lspci_937.txt and sysinfo_2302.txt, lspci_2302.txt in accordance with the above mentioned build numbers.

    Please also create Acronis Report in the way described below:

    - Download and run Acronis Report Utility;
    - Select the "Create Bootable Floppy" option;
    - Insert a blank floppy disk in the A: drive and proceed with creation of the bootable floppy;
    - Boot the computer from this diskette and wait for report creation process to finish;
    - Collect the report file from the floppy.

    Submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. This information will let us investigate the problem and provide you with the solution as soon as possible.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  12. lg777

    lg777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    When I try the version 9 boot cd and follow the instructions, it writes the files to the floppy but when I try to open it up, it won't recognize the files. I do have the version 8 and will be sending that in.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.