True Image 12 crashes

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by blupp1, May 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. blupp1

    blupp1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    True Image crashes

    Hi there,

    I have Acronis True Image 12, I use it on my Windows Vista Home Premium.
    Sometimes Acronis True Image crashes. If I debug this tool i get following failure:

    and
    Thanks,

    Christopher
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2009
  2. blupp1

    blupp1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    Re: True Image crashes

    Come on...

    Noone has an idea?
     
  3. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    If the crash happens when TI is attempting to make an image or whatever, I would run chkdsk X: /r on all the partitions. Substitute the drive letter of the partition being tested for X; reboot likely required for C.

    Have you tried a reinstall of TI?

    Will the TI rescue CD boot up and work properly? If so, you may have a problem with the Snapapi module which looks after live-imaging in Windows.

    Any other strange behaviour by the PC? Run a RAM diagnostic such as Memtest86+, free from www. memtest.org .
     
  4. SystemJunkie

    SystemJunkie Resident Conspiracy Theorist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Posts:
    1,500
    Location:
    Germany
    So it is still true, TI7 was the most stable version.:D :D :D :D :D
     
  5. blupp1

    blupp1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    No, I can create images successfuly, but if I want to use the app (for example to create a task and so on...) sometimes it will crash.

    I've already done a chkdsk, and made a ram check.
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2009
  6. blupp1

    blupp1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    Aren't there any solutions?
     
  7. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    How long did the check work? One hour?
     
  8. blupp1

    blupp1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    I've tested it with the Windows Memorychecktool ("Speicherdiagnosetool").

    Well, after 30 mins I've cancelled this test, because there aren't any mistakes
     
  9. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    30 minutes is not adequate given the amount of memory in modern PCs especially if the problem is not a "hard" fault but is marginal.

    RAM tests should be run for about 12hrs for more confidence.

    Note that a RAM test is not foolproof. Substitution with known good RAM is sometimes beneficial or if you have multiple sticks of memory and the PC will run with at least one removed, you can try removing them in turn and see if the problem goes away.

    You said you can create images successfully. Can you Validate the images successfully? The TI Validation process is known to uncover RAM issues.

    The RAM issue may or may not be the cause of your problem (and I wouldn't bet money that it is) but it needs to be eliminated as a possible cause.
     
  10. blupp1

    blupp1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    TrueImageMonitor.exe, which made the Image don't crashed. Only the "gui" "Trueimage.exe".

    I've started a validation of my Backup.

    EDIT:

    The GUI crashed again, but the Monitor, the Validation is running, we will see....
     
  11. blupp1

    blupp1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    Ok, the validation has finished succesfully, but the GUI crashed again.

    What should I do now?
     
  12. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Yours is not a typical problem and since the obvious has been attempted other than trying an updated version of Snapapi which is on their website (somewhere), I suggest you contact Acronis about the problem. Their Live Chat method of requesting support seems to be the one that gets the best reviews.
     
  13. blupp1

    blupp1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    Well, snapapi update hasn't help yet.
     
  14. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    Taugt nix :rolleyes:

    Run memtest86 from my signature. Let it work a night...
     
  15. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello blupp1,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image Home 2009

    First of all please make sure that you are using the latest build (9709) of the program. Check it in Help -> About. You can always download the latest build of the program from your account under Registered Products.

    If the issue persists we need some diagnostic information from your computer to investigate it. Could you please do the following?

    (1)
    - Reproduce the problem (application crash);
    - Do not close the "Application has stopped working" window;
    - Run Task Manager (press Ctrl-Shift-Esc buttons);
    - Go to "Processes" tab and right-click on the crashed process;
    - Select "Create Dump File" item from the menu;
    - Pick up the .DMP file created and send it to us;
    - Open Start->Run (or press Windows-R buttons) type "%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportArchive" string without quotes and hit Enter key
    - After that you will see a folder (or a few folders), the name of which starts with "Report"
    - Please send us Report.wer file from the last created folder

    (2)
    Could you please also do the following?
    - Download and unpack the Device Tree application:
    http://download.acronis.com/support/devicetree_Vista.zip
    - Run the application from "i386" folder (run the 64-bit version of Device tree from "x64" folder if you have Windows Vista 64-bit);
    - Completely unfold (click on all plus signs) the \Driver\partmgr and \Driver\volmgr branches;
    - Move the margin to the right in order to see all the items;
    - Make a screen shot and send it to us.

    Attach the collected info to your next reply.

    As workaround try to disable any antivirus software temporarily and see if the issue persists. Let us know the results.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.