True Image 11

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Lee-Morris, Oct 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lee-Morris

    Lee-Morris Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Edinbrugh
    Having got an email regarding the release of True Image 11 I decided to visit their home page and read upon it. I got quite excited as it does read very well and decided there and then to upgrade :D

    And why not, I have been very happy with Acronis products. It installed OK and I decided to create a fresh new backup, all went well and the backup passed with flying colours, everything checked out :D

    However, I backup to an external drive which is completely isolated from the system. So even if the drive completely fails I can just swap out the drive and within a few minutes back up-and-running :D

    My system is a Quad Core 3 GHz with 4 independent SATA drives (not setup as RAID yet) and to my horror when trying to restore the backup, True Image cannot see SATA drives. This means that True Image 11 is absolutely rubbish! :mad: :mad: :mad:

    Why create a product that doesn’t support modern SATA drives? Does anyone know of a workaround for this? Unless we can find a solution I cannot recommend this product and will be demanding a full refund
     
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    It's not the drives themselves; it most likely is another problem of the Linux restore environment not having the proper driver for your chipset which includes the SATA controller.

    Two options:

    Raise an official support ticket with Acronis so they can address this for you and include it in future updates.

    Make a BartPE bootable CD with the TI plugin. This uses the Windows drivers and you can add whatever special drivers are necessary.
     
  3. Anguel

    Anguel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    57
    The SATA/RAID problems are well known. Just read the other posts by annoyed users. Do you know what your chipset is? Intel RAID?

     
  4. Lee-Morris

    Lee-Morris Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Edinbrugh
    And how Do I achieve that?
     
  5. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Can you just clarify - is the lack of S-ata drives within the Windows version of TI 11 or from the Rescue CD?

    As mentioned by Anguel, what M/B chipset and raid chip is being used?

    Colin
     
  6. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    You will need windows XP as a source. Look here for Begginer's Guide to Creating a BartPE CD. Mustang has a modest fee for the guide and his plugins for BartPE ($1.99 each).
     
  7. Lee-Morris

    Lee-Morris Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Edinbrugh
    How to create the BartPE cd with drivers. I have a P35 chipset, but the BIOS is set to IDE and with TI 10 in safe mode it wasn't a problem. I know that during the creation of the recovery CD it's possible to enter a command, are there listed anywhere safe mode commands for TI 11?
     
  8. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    Mustang's guide gives details of haw to addd drivers to a BartPE disk or you could Google for the information there is loads on the web about building a BartPE disk.
    The commands for TI 11 are in the user guide and you can download the TI 11 file for safe mode from your registered products page on the Acronis web site
     
  9. Lee-Morris

    Lee-Morris Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Edinbrugh
    Now that I didn't know about. Many thanks for the update :D
     
  10. Lee-Morris

    Lee-Morris Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Edinbrugh
    :D Well; I retract everything I said about version 11. Now that I have ‘safe mode’ once again, I can see and restore my saved images without any problems. True Image 11 is a wonderful product.
     
  11. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I thought the P35 chipset problems were fixed in TI11 but since you have a quad there may be some other issues?

    I think you should start a support request ticket with Acronis so the problem gets fixed in future builds. Safe mode usually runs very slow compared to the Linux full.
     
  12. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.
    We are glad to know that the problem has been solved and that Acronis Software works fine for you now.

    However, we would like to investigate the original issue with the Full version of Acronis Bootable Media with your assistance if you have spare time of course. Please create Acronis Report and Linux system information (sysinfo26.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post. Then submit a request for technical support with the subject indicating that you want to contact Alexey Bogomolov. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread.

    Thank you.

    Best Regards,
    Alexey Bogomolov
     
  13. Lee-Morris

    Lee-Morris Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Edinbrugh
    Hello,

    Sorry for the delay in replying, but I am currently working away from home. Next week I will action your request when I am back.

    Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.