TRUE IMAGE 11 HOME RECOVER DRIVE BACKUP BUG PROBLEM

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by PBTech, Mar 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PBTech

    PBTech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Trying out this true image home 11 i discovered a problem,
    When you have two drives #1 as your working C drive and a second drive used for backups of your C drive,backi up is made on your second drive as Acronis Mybackup.You already clearified your backup works.

    #1 Now you go to Operations on the top taskbar and click recovery.
    restore data wizard
    #2 select hard disk to restore,It mentions The destination hard disk drive you have chosen contains some partitions that could contain useful data.
    Note( I have only one partition on this drive)
    #3 Gives you a 2 options to click on
    Yes i want to delete all the partitions on the destination hard disk before restoring.
    option 2 - NO,I do not want to delete the partitions.***Can not be clicked on
    Question Why is the second option greyed out and cant be chosen ?
    You are only able to delete the partition to restore it?,Why would you want to delete your partition,If something gos wrong you have deleted the drive
    You should be able to pick* Not to delete the partition and restore the the hard drive from your backups you have made.
     
  2. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Because when TI restores a drive it will first delete the existing partition and then restore the partition from your backup file. Since you only have one partition, that's the only thing the program can do.

    Your concern about being left with everything on your drive deleted is a valid one and is the reason that many people recommend that you first test this before actually doing it. To test, obtain a spare hard drive and restore to it. If all goes well then you have just gained confidence in the ability of the program to do restores with your hardware.

    In your case do you have an external USB drive that you can temporarily store your backup (.tib file) on? If so, copy the backup to the external and test by removing your #1 hard disk from the PC and replacing it with #2. Boot your PC from the TI recovery disk (make one from the Bootable Media Builder menu item) and then do a restore from the external to your internal drive (#2). When the restore has finished, reboot to test. Make sure that you do not boot your machine for the first time with both drives attached; have only the #2 drive attached.
     
  3. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    Mark is absolutely correct and he offers some good suggestions. The option to not delete the partition is not valid in this situation and for that reason it is greyed out.
     
  4. PBTech

    PBTech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    After validate backup archive you would think the program verifys that the image is correct.But for normal users of this program not every one has a spare drive to do this check.So you have to hope the program tells you your backup will work later.But thanks for the help,I did this swap and tried on a few spare drives and seems to be ok.Cloning works ok to ,to an other usb drive.
     
  5. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Great! So now you know.

    The reason for doing this is that you need to prove that the Linux recovery environment has all of the correct drivers for your hardware, and you want to find this out sooner, rather than later.
     
  6. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    That's correct, but why does the program present a question when there is only one answer? That doesn't seem very intelligent. A smarter programmer might have simply presented a warning screen or skipped this completely as was done in earlier versions of True Image.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.