True Image 11 Home hangs Vista PC

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by vandergraff, Dec 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vandergraff

    vandergraff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    I have a brand new HP PC running Vista SP1 64-bit. I have installed True Image 11 Home and every time I try to run a backup it completely hangs the PC (mouse unresponsive, can't start task manager etc). I can leave the PC for hours - but it stays locked up. Only a power cycle can restart it.

    I have downloaded the latest version of True Image 11 Home from the Acronis web site - uninstalled and re-installed True Image - but all to no avail.

    The backup location is a network drive mapped on an HP Media Vault on my wireless network. This works flawlessly on my XP PC running True Image 11.

    Ideas?
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,485
    Location:
    California
    Have you tried using the full UNC path to the network share instead of a mapped drive letter? If I remember correctly, TI has problems with mapped drives.
     
  3. vandergraff

    vandergraff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Sorry fairly new at this. What is the full UNC path? The mapped drive works fine with XP.
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,485
    Location:
    California
    This is an example:
    Code:
    \\server\share\file_path 
    Here is another:
    Code:
    \\mudcrab\downloads\acronis
    You just need to know the server's name and the share's name. After that, you put any path required.
     
  5. vandergraff

    vandergraff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    OK I tried UNC path.

    ATI still hangs PC immediately after starting task. Only way to restart PC on power off/on.

    Fresh install of ATI v11 on a bend new HP Vista PC.

    Ideas?
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello vandergraff,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    Please make sure that Acronis Scheduler2 Service (Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Services) Startup Type is set to Automatic. Otherwise, please set it to Automatic yourself and reboot your computer.

    I sent you two files via PM, please check if they solve the issue. Otherwise, please collect the following information and use our Live Chat service here to receive a solution.

    1) - Download and unpack the Device Tree application :

    - Run the application from "i386" folder (run the 64-bit version of Device tree from "x64" folder if you have Windows Vista 64-bit);
    - Completely unfold (click on all plus signs) the \Driver\partmgr and \Driver\volmgr branches;
    - Move the margin to the right in order to see all the items;
    - Make a screen shot.

    If you are not familiar with making screen shots, please read the below step-by-step instructions.

    - Get to the window which you want to make a screen shot of;
    - Hit the (Alt+)PrintScreen button on your keyboard;
    - Run Paint usually available in Start\Programs\Accessories or another graphics application;
    - Choose Paste command in Edit menu;
    - Save the result picture in JPEG format being preferable.

    2) - Open Start\Programs\Accessories\System Tools\System Information;
    - Choose the "Save" option in the "File" menu (or "Action" menu under Windows 2000), enter the "File name" and set the field "Save as type" to "System Information File (*.NFO)";
    - Send us the saved file.


    Thank you.

    --

    Oleg Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.