True Image 11 Home hangs Vista PC

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by vandergraff, Dec 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vandergraff

    vandergraff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    I have a brand new HP PC running Vista SP1 64-bit. I have installed True Image 11 Home and every time I try to run a backup it completely hangs the PC (mouse unresponsive, can't start task manager etc). I can leave the PC for hours - but it stays locked up. Only a power cycle can restart it.

    I have downloaded the latest version of True Image 11 Home from the Acronis web site - uninstalled and re-installed True Image - but all to no avail.

    The backup location is a network drive mapped on an HP Media Vault on my wireless network. This works flawlessly on my XP PC running True Image 11.

    Ideas?
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    Have you tried using the full UNC path to the network share instead of a mapped drive letter? If I remember correctly, TI has problems with mapped drives.
     
  3. vandergraff

    vandergraff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Sorry fairly new at this. What is the full UNC path? The mapped drive works fine with XP.
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    This is an example:
    Code:
    \\server\share\file_path 
    Here is another:
    Code:
    \\mudcrab\downloads\acronis
    You just need to know the server's name and the share's name. After that, you put any path required.
     
  5. vandergraff

    vandergraff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    OK I tried UNC path.

    ATI still hangs PC immediately after starting task. Only way to restart PC on power off/on.

    Fresh install of ATI v11 on a bend new HP Vista PC.

    Ideas?
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello vandergraff,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    Please make sure that Acronis Scheduler2 Service (Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Services) Startup Type is set to Automatic. Otherwise, please set it to Automatic yourself and reboot your computer.

    I sent you two files via PM, please check if they solve the issue. Otherwise, please collect the following information and use our Live Chat service here to receive a solution.

    1) - Download and unpack the Device Tree application :

    - Run the application from "i386" folder (run the 64-bit version of Device tree from "x64" folder if you have Windows Vista 64-bit);
    - Completely unfold (click on all plus signs) the \Driver\partmgr and \Driver\volmgr branches;
    - Move the margin to the right in order to see all the items;
    - Make a screen shot.

    If you are not familiar with making screen shots, please read the below step-by-step instructions.

    - Get to the window which you want to make a screen shot of;
    - Hit the (Alt+)PrintScreen button on your keyboard;
    - Run Paint usually available in Start\Programs\Accessories or another graphics application;
    - Choose Paste command in Edit menu;
    - Save the result picture in JPEG format being preferable.

    2) - Open Start\Programs\Accessories\System Tools\System Information;
    - Choose the "Save" option in the "File" menu (or "Action" menu under Windows 2000), enter the "File name" and set the field "Save as type" to "System Information File (*.NFO)";
    - Send us the saved file.


    Thank you.

    --

    Oleg Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.