True Image 10 won't restore

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by mistywindow, Jan 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mistywindow

    mistywindow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Wanganui, New Zealand
    Version 10 build 4942

    Upgraded to a new Dell Inspiron 1720 notebook (Vista Ultimate 32-bit) and can not restore an image form within Windows.

    The machine reboots after initiating a restore from withing Vista Ultimate, but after the reboot it hangs in the GUI.

    There's disk activity for 20 minutes or so, but the restoration doesn't start. Eventually the screen locks up.

    Same if I boot from the Rescue Disk.

    I had no such problem on previous Dell Inspiron 9400 notebook running Vista.

    Do I need to upgrade to v11?
    Is it likely that the Dell junk partitions are causing a problem?

    Help!
     
  2. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I never had ATI 10, but never had a successful restore with ATI 11.
     
  3. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    hi mistywindow

    what are u trying to restore on your dell pc within winddows? the os? some regular files?

    try check the "archive verification" ti see if backups files arenr bad/demage

    cheers
     
  4. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Do a search on this forum for mustang's free guide for vistaPE, make a vistaPE disk with ATI on it, following his guide, and forget about those ATI11 bootCDs forever. It won't fixc the bugs that are in ATI but it will avoid the problems with the linux OS that ATI puts on its bootCDs, which are most often the reason for problems where you can backup (in windows) but you can't restore (from the BootCD). You don't have to own vista to be able to build the vistaPE disk--you can get the vistaPE image free from Microsoft -- check Mustang's guide for details.
     
  5. mistywindow

    mistywindow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Wanganui, New Zealand
    I've imaged all partitions on my 1st HDD, but I'm only trying to restore the OS partition. I verified the image during backup and before trying to restore.
    Tried restoring from within Windows and using the boot CD.
     
  6. mistywindow

    mistywindow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Wanganui, New Zealand
    I'll give that a try, but I can't restore from within Windows or from the boot CD.
    Hacks me off. Never had a problem with ATI before that wasn't fixed with an updated build. Now when I really need it ... :mad:
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Have you tried the quiet acpi=off noapic option detailed in Section II of the PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU POST thread?

    Did you try the Safe Mode (SafeMedia) version of TI? On some newer computers, you can access USB hard drives using the Safe Mode version, though usually at USB 1 speeds. If the Safe Mode works and you have room for the image on another internal partition, you could copy it there and then restore to the OS partition at a decent speed.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello mistywindow,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please try booting with "acpi=off noapic" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post, as suggested by MudCrab.

    If the issue persists, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    Please create Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.