True Image 10 Restore mess

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Ulixes, Oct 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ulixes

Ulixes Registered Member

Hello,

I'm fairly new to True Image and I can't overcome a problem:

I installed Windows in a partition (K:). I made a backup of this fresh installation with TI 9.

Now when I need a new Windows installation I restore my backup to a new partition (the drive letter is different from K) without problems. It's fast and efficient.

Everything is ok with TI 9, but yesterday I Tried True Image version 10.

I select Restore files and folders as I have done before, but now True Image creates a subfolder in the disk root, named "Drive(K)" and restores the files there.
    It should put the files in the root, instead.

At this point all my WinXp installation is placed in that Drive(K) subfolder. Why? What can I do to restore my files to the root of my drive?

I was forced to uninstall version 10 and return to 9.

Thank you for your attention.

2. Ralphie

Ralphie Registered Member

Instead of restoring Files and Folders what happens if you restore the complete Image? And BTW, since ver 9 works for you stick with it until the rest of the unpaid beta testers report all the bugs in Ver 10.

3. Ulixes

Ulixes Registered Member

I don't restore the complete image because I always restore to a different hard drive.

Creating a new folder seems more like a feature than a bug, I don't know.

4. Ralphie

Ralphie Registered Member

Must be the alignment of the planets ... this is the second post that I'm having trouble understanding. :D If you're restoring to a different hard drive then surely you would want it to be bootable just like the drive it is replacing? And to have it do this you have to restore the entire image - not just files and folders.
    If you want to save only certain files then use Windows Explorer to copy them to the other drive - much simpler than using True Image.