True Image 10 Home, Vista, SATA

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by FreemanW, Aug 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FreemanW

    FreemanW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Greetings, I have a short laundry list of difficulties I have been "putting up with" regarding my installation of Acronis True Image 10 Home.

    This Acronis install is on a new build using the Asus P5K Deluxe motherboard and a Raptor SATA hard disk drive. The operating system is Vista Business.

    I am using the latest Acronis build (#4,942) available and Vista is up-to-date. I have no difficutly using Acronis to make a Backup image to a secondary internal storage hdd, or validating that image. When I attempt to "Create Bootable Rescue Media" I proceed through the steps, I select the Pioneer DVR 212D SATA burner, and when I click to create I receive an Error dialog "E00040010: Device is busy.(0x40010) Tag: 0x8B7F8138EBD33EB3" with a Retry and Cancel Button.

    I have subsequently made a Bootable Rescue Media by creating an ISO file and burning it to disc using Nero on my XP Professional computer.

    No matter how I configure the SATA / IDE options (I have tried all of them) in the BIOS on the Asus board, when I boot using the Bootable Rescue Media I created from an ISO, Acronis GUI loads fine, but does not find any hard disk drives.

    Is there something I am failing to do or does Acronis not support SATA on the Intel P35 chipset?

    [late edit]
    The Create Bootable Rescue Media issue was resolved by pausing (completely) Kaspersky's protection. This allowed Acronis to succeed in creating a bootable rescue disk with all of the Disk Director and True Image options selected. However, the issue of Acronis not finding any hard disk drives while in the GUI mode at bootup continues.

    .
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2007
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    As far as I know, P35 chipset support is not in the latest build. You'll need to use the Safe Mode of TI or build BartPE CD (using XP SP2) that includes the drivers for you chipset.

    The only other options are to wait for the next build (or version) and see if it includes support or to contact Acronis Support and request a custom ISO file with the necessary drivers.
     
  3. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    And since version 11 has been announced, it might not be a long wait for the next version. I think that's what I'd do.
     
  4. FreemanW

    FreemanW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Thank you both for the quick response!

    Just goes to confirm my position with Vista for the moment. I am not using it for any mission critical work or work product.

    .
     
  5. jakevsnake

    jakevsnake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Freeman,
    I also had the same issues with the same setup you have (p5k deluxe). I am using Vista 64. The only way to make it work for you is to boot from the recovery cd you made, use SAFE mode so you can see all your drives (although not any USB drives). I cant see the USB drive with my setup so I just copied the image to a spare HD inside the computer. You can make your image files in Windows from within TI 10 and they should be solid. Or you can just use the recovery CD and do it all that way.
     
  6. FreemanW

    FreemanW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Ahhh, well then!

    Thank you jakevsnake! I will give that a shot just to check it out and know that I have an emergency plan that works. ;)

    .
     
  7. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello FreemanW,

    Not sure whether you are aware of it or not but when you boot from the Acronis Rescue CD into "Full" mode you enter a Linux environment. Therefore Vista and its device drivers doesn't come into it.

    "Safe" mode on the otherhand uses a version of DOS in combination with your motherboards BIOS routines to access your hardware. You may well find that disk data transfer rates in this case are somewhat slow. In addition, with some motherboard/BIOS combinations True Image can in fact detect external USB hard disks. However, data tranfer rate will probably be very slow due to it operating in USB 1.1 rather USB 2.0 Hi-Speed mode. Still much quicker than having to reinstall Windows and all your applications/settings though. :D

    Regards

    Menorcaman
     
  8. Ozo

    Ozo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    I have a similar system than yours and could make it work by disabling all advanced SATA options in the BIOS.

    - Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R
    - LG GSA-H62L (SATA)
    - Western Digital WD5000AAKS (SATA)

    At first try, booting from a CD-R (in my DVD drive), I got the "Acronis Loader fatal error: Boot drive (partition) not found". Then, I disabled the RAID/AHCI Mode of the Intel ICH9R SATA controller (in the BIOS) and it could at least boot into the ATI application (I only tested the "full" mode). However, like for you, it would not find my hard disk. Then I disabled the SATA Native Mode of the Intel ICH9R SATA controller (in the BIOS) and it could now properly boot and find my hard drive.

    My conclusion is that ATI 10 does not support advanced SATA operation modes. After disabling them all, it worked fine.

    Eventough it eventually worked, it was not very interessting to see it fail at first try.

    Ozo.

    P.S.: By disabling these two BIOS options, we loose the advanced SATA features (such as NCQ and hot plug) and have our SATA controller operate in lefacy IDE mode (whatever that means).
     
  9. foodorcomputers

    foodorcomputers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    I am using a ICH9 system as well with the same build of TI 10. I'm experiencing many problems as well, in Windows XP, VISTA and also in the recovery environment. Here are some of the issues FYI.
    The PC is a brand new Dell inspiron 530.

    Vista:
    Backup - appears to works ok
    Restore to overwrite and existing partition - fails at the start with error about not being able to write to disk, will still delete the previous paritition
    Restore to empty space - fails at the end with error about not being able to write to disk

    Windows XP
    Backup - somehow, lost the ability to create an image of the C drive - error stating the drive is in use or bad sectors (checked, but found none).
    Restore - cannot restore OS drive, needs to boot into recovery environment - fails immediately upon startup, and reboots to the same partition, nothing seems to be affected

    Recovery Environment
    Normal mode - cannot detect anything on the SATA bus, see's USB2 drives OK
    Safe mode - works fine! (yay!), very very slow.

    BTW: I LOVE the ability to use a USB key to boot the recovery environment.
    I am *really* hoping TI 11 will solve all these problems. Everything I've seen it do on my old PC's is great.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.