True Image 10.0 home - Error 0x8004010f

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by GunnarC, Oct 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GunnarC

    GunnarC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    When trying to backup eMails (Outlook 2003) the backup-assitant produces always an identical error:

    "The command in 0x7c350440 refers to memory in 0x8004010f. ..." (translated from German).

    I have run scanpst.exe on the outlook.pst. No change in error message.

    Deos anybody have an idea how to solve this?

    Tks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. MartinH

    MartinH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    103
    Das bedeutet, dass ein von TrueImage initialisierter Zeiger auf die Adresse 0x8004010f zeigt, die irgendwie schreibgeschützt ist, jedenfalls wo nichts von trueImage steht.

    Hast du die Version 10 über eine ältere Version "drübergebügelt" ?

    In jedem Falle solltest du TrueImage deinstallieren, die Registry von TrueImage-Resten befreien (also die Acronis-Schlüssel löschen), und dann die Version 10 nochmal installieren.
     
  3. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    it would help if you would translate the full text of the message.
     
  4. blow

    blow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    /// command 0x7c350440 refers to memory adress 0x8004010f.
    Memory could not be read.
    Click OK to close the application or cancel to debug it ///

    is it clear enough now?

    br
    blow
     
  5. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    I get these occasionally and as they are caused by other programs (specifically a CAD program), I'm not sure the memory error is down to TI.

    I think it is a 'Windows Vaguery' :) . I think it occurs when two threads or processes think they are accessing a memory location that the x86 processors have flagged as locked or unavailable to the system.

    If it happens randomly, I'd suggest just living with it, if it happens everytime then, I'd disable as many of the background process running on your system as possible, see if that makes a difference with TI - then bring the re-enable the background stuff one process at a time until you find the one that causes a clash with TI.

    This wouldn't be foolproof, as sometimes the order in which processes start makes a difference and I've never been able to track down in XP how to it to start processes in a certain order.

    Don't forget if you're going to try this, you'll need to look in services.msc and under the startup tab in msconfig.

    Forgot to add, it could also be down to your video driver - I had an earlier version of TI and PE play up causing all sorts of problems, adn it all came down to the video driver.

    Colin
     
  6. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
  7. Unit01

    Unit01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    59
    /Hijack.

    You can do it via batch scripting... Not the prettiest way of doing things...

    eg:

    net start SQLSERVERAGENT
    net start MSSQLSERVER

    You should be able to do this for any service, if its got a space in it throw it in " ". Also, you can pause things starting up by doing a ping -n 200 127.0.0.1 inbetween services.
     
  8. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802

    Usually a result of a conflict among programs and/or memory/resources to being released.
     
  9. Det

    Det Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    I am getting the exact same issue.. I have tried this in 3 different pc's - all give the exact same result. Interesting thing however.. I imported all mail/folders etc to Outlook Express and it backed up fine. It seems the only problem is with Outlook - I am running 2003 as well. Everything else appears fine. I tried removing all from start up as well and ending all processes I could with the same result. Should not have get used to a problem such as this.. this is a bug and does not work with Outlook. At least on the 3 different systems I have tried it on. Any other suggestions or known software conflicts any one can offer? Would really like this option to work with Outlook being this is the main reason I purchased the upgrade. Please advise.
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2006
  10. leo14

    leo14 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    I have the same issue.

    Saving the Files of Outlook was the main reason too to buy the upgrade to 10. So my disappointment is big to see that it doesn't work.

    Hey Acronis, please react.
     
  11. rahendo

    rahendo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    I have the same problem. Upgraded to version 10 today - primarily because of the Outlook option.
    I can, however, backup individual folders, e.g. Inbox OR Contacts OR User Settings (but not all together) successfully without receiving the error. If I select "Microsoft Office Outlook" or "Personal Folders" I receive Error 0x8004010f.
     
  12. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
  13. AlanWoods

    AlanWoods Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Like others, the Outlook BackUp capability was the main reason for going for the upgrade from TI 9 to TI 10. Most disappointing. I would appreciate a solution from Acronis. Whether it's an Acronis problem or a Microsoft problem, shouldn't really be my problem with such a widely used email client (Outlook 2000)
     
  14. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Well let's be fair here, if it is a Microsoft problem, it isn't in Acronis's area to solve, unless they can easily come up with a work around.

    From looking at the MS Knowledge Base a problem similar to what is in this thread is known and quite widelt propagated. It might be that as MS only ever expects to work with itself, that it is something Acronis can't do anything about.

    Have you complained to Microsoft as well? Perhaps it shouldn't be my problem that you are having a problem, because I don't have your problem ;) though that'd be because I don't use Outlook or it's cut down sibling.

    Colin
     
  15. rahendo

    rahendo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Following are the Event logs produced by Windows when the error occurs. Maybe they will be of assistance. Both the faulting application and faulting module are from TI10. The fault address is the same in both cases but these reports are from different computers.

    Windows XP Professional (running TI10 registered and Outlook 2003)
    "Faulting application trueimageservice.exe, version 10.0.0.4871, faulting module outlookbackup.dll, version 1.0.17.17, fault address 0x000077c"

    Windows Vista RC1 (running TI10 trial and Outlook 2007 Beta 3 - on a different computer and with a different Outlook pst file to the XP example above)
    "Faulting application TrueImageService.exe, version 10.0.0.4871, time stamp 0x4533f770, faulting module OutlookBackup.dll, version 1.0.17.17, time stamp 0x4533f67c, exception code 0xc0000005, fault offset 0x000077c0, process id 0xa48, application start time 0x01c6f5929862d11a"

    I note that there are several other posts reporting similar problems with the Outlook/Outlook Express backup feature.
     
  16. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Yes and what does TI hook into to 'talk' to Outlook? The DLL provided by Ms for this purpose.

    It might be that the Acronis developers are not addressing the DLL correctly and it might be that they are not bounds checking sufficiently.

    I still suspect that this is an MS problem, as MS themselves have discovered something similar using their own software.

    It may also be something that only appears after certain MS updates have been applied - that also wouldn't be the first time that something that worked then broke.

    Exception code 0xC0000005 =

    When you fire the __raise event, or you unhook (__unhook) native events, in an unmanaged application, you may receive the following error message:
    Unhandled exception at virtual address in executable: 0xC0000005: Access violation reading location virtual address


    This error is caused by many things according to MS.

    If it is the above then it is within Acronis's remit to alter.

    Change all instances in code to -

    struct A {
    __event void Event();
    A() { }; //Contructor defined in class scope.
    void bar(){}
    };

    However if it is caused by Exchange then a MS service pack provides the answer.

    There is more than a couple of pages on this fault in the MS Knowledge base archives.

    Colin
     
  17. murray_a_e

    murray_a_e Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    After receiving the error message "installation was interrupted" in attempting to upgrade to v10, and after several days, manually cleaning the registry, and a successful install, I can't backup Outlook 2003. Not only does it fail with the error "The instruction at "0x7c350440" referenced memory at "0x8004010f"" message, even selecting OK doesn't cause TI to close. In fact, TI continues to access 50% of the CPU. I checked the MS references in the previous messages and all of them had to do with Exchange. I don't run Exchange so what is the issue. The error message specifically targets TrueImageService.exe.o_O
     
  18. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello GunnarC and everyone,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please note that we need some additional information to investigate this issue thoroughly and to provide you with a possible workaround.

    Could you also explain your step-by-step actions which you took that led you to this error and when exectly this error message appears? Please also create a screen shot of the error. Please also clarify the e-mail client (Microsoft Outlook 2000, 2002, 2003 or Microsoft Outlook Express) and e-mail account you tried to back up and approximate size of the mail box.

    Please also do the following:

    - Press the Start button, choose Run, type "drwtsn32" and press Enter;

    - In the dialog that appears check the Log File and Crash Dump paths, then press the OK button;

    - Run Acronis True Image and reproduce the problem;

    - Pick up the user.dmp and drwtsn32.log files in the directory specified at step 2;

    Please also Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  19. Det

    Det Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    I found out that after going through each folder one by one and removing only emails with attachments I was able to do a successful backup. Process of elimination found the following for me. Emails with web pages as attachments failed, some (not all) emails that have .zip files as attachments failed, emails that are sent as attachments failed. Removed these.. no problems. Put them back in... problems. I hoping there is a resolution in the works on this - being it's kind of finiky on what it backs up. I would not say this was set in stone.. but it worked for my email backup. Just FYI.

    Det
     
  20. jet75080

    jet75080 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Im my development years we learned early NOT to use .dll that microsoft wrote. We developed our own that performed what was needed, thus avoiding the mistake it seems that ATI in 10 have done. So we pay for buggy code from both companies..

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.