Trouble with TI 10 (Home)?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Lurch, May 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lurch

Lurch Registered Member

I have been using TI for a few years to clone my hard disks. I cloned my drives on my HP and Compaq computers, desktops and laptops, to USB drives, and successfully traded out the hard drives to replace the ones inside the computers. Last month I started having problems with TI 10 on my Compaq laptop running Window XP Pro. THe first attempt to clone my internal drive appeared to be going well until I was asked if it was alright for TI to reboot my computer so TI could clone my drive. When the computer rebooted, TI started analyzing the drives, then would re-boot right back into Windows. I fould that if I immediately retried TI, I could usually get TI to do a complete clone.
    Now, I have a Dell computer running VIsta Home Premium. I Uninstalled TI from the Compaq so I could install and run on my desktop Dell. The first try at cloning required two attempts exactly as the Compaq did. All future attempts have failed. The first attempts now get the first coulpe of lines and 'analyzing drives' after TI reboots, and then the system, or TI reboots to VIsta. Any further attemts to retry cloning with TI totally locks up my system. Should I power down my system, after Vista boots, I get the message that Acronis is finished, but it ain't!

I really want to clone to a USB drive, equal in size to my internal hard drive. This is a completely new operating system to me and I just know I will screw something up. Any suggestions? Would purchasing an second matching internal hard drive make life easier?

Suggestions, and/comments would be greatly appreciated

2. jmk94903

jmk94903 Registered Member

What version and build of TI are you using?