Trouble with push install

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by brett05, Oct 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. brett05

    brett05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I am having trouble with a push install only on a few selected workstations. As with all other workstations I have ensured that I have satisfied the following criteria.

    - Target must respond to a ping from the server
    - Administrative user used for install cannot have a blank password.
    - If the client and server are in a mixed domain/workgroup environment (or the server is 2003), simple file sharing must be turned off on XP clients
    - Client for MS Network (server, client)
    - Activated file and printer sharing (client)
    - File Sharing permitted on firewall (client, server)
    - TCP/IP (client, server)
    - ADMIN$ share (Client)
    - Remote registry service started (client)
    - Account used for installation must have Administrator Rights

    Is there anything that I may have overlooked?

    Cheers, Brett
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi brett05, welcome to Wilders.

    What error message are you receiving?

    Cheers :D
     
  3. brett05

    brett05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Brisbane
    The error message in Remote Administrator Console is -->

    "Could not set up IPC connection to target computer (SC error code 6, GLE error code 53)"

    Thanks, Brett
     
  4. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Double check the firewall...perhaps even disable it for the push attempt. I've run across a couple of rigs that were flakey enough where the firewall wasn't propertly allowing networking to function even though checked in the exceptions.

    Make sure the workstations are using your DC's IP as their DNS

    Try the TCP/Winsock rebuild utility..in case their winsock is hosed with some malware
    http://www.snapfiles.com/reviews/WinSock_XP_Fix/winsockxpfix.html
     
  5. brett05

    brett05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Thanks guys,

    It was Windows firewall. I already had TCP445 enabled under file & printer sharing, but just needed to also enable TCP139, UDP137 & UDP138. At this point, I have no idea what these do, but my push install seems to be going now.

    Cheers, Brett
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.