Trouble with Homegroup

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by SSri09, Nov 4, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SSri09

    SSri09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Posts:
    36
    I am not sure if this is the correct forum for win7 firewall configurations.

    I have two pcs, which can see each other on the home group. I am using win7 firewall. I checked the firewall rules, which I believe are generated automatically when home network is selected.

    The PCs can each other but not able to access any files and folders. I have also networked the drives for access on the other PCs. I am unable to access them as well.

    I think this is a firewall issue. I would appreciate any help with setting up appropriate firewall rules, although I think the firewall rules are sufficient for network access.
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Re: Troulbe with Homegroup

    If you disable the firewall can you view the shares? Are there any error messages?
     
  3. SSri09

    SSri09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Posts:
    36
    Thanks. It did not make a difference; however, I toyed between network password and without network password with a few restarts. I finally managed to get the notebook access the workstation network drive and folders, while the workstation is still unable to connect to the notebook drives with an error 80070035 (as before), which seems to be windows explorer's inability to resolve the networked PCs IP addresses. I have tried all work around without much success; may be, I will disable home group and try the work computer route! :)
     
  4. SSri09

    SSri09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Posts:
    36
    BTW, I have always been able to see the home group computers but could never access the files/folders/drives. I have now managed to get the notebook access the workstation and not vice-versa.
     
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,791
    Location:
    Texas
  6. SSri09

    SSri09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Posts:
    36
    Thanks. I have tried that several times in vain. Cheers
     
  7. tej

    tej Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    India
    Is IPv6 enabled?
     
  8. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Are all comps in the same workgroup?
     
  9. Wroll

    Wroll Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    Italy
    I had the same problem as you when I tested this dumb thing called Homegroup. On my PC there were some windows services disabled, which Homegroup required to function (why were like that beats me, I now I didn't disabled them, or why the Homegroup doesn't start them). I can't remember what were the services needed so I can't help you there.
     
  10. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,301
    Location:
    England
  11. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    They all have to be in the same work group. You also have to share the folders. If the folders are not shared you can see them, but not physically view/access files.
     
  12. SSri09

    SSri09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Posts:
    36
    Thanks for all the replies and the links.

    (1) They are in the same group..(2) The computers have the same name. (3) I have enabled share the drive on both the computers. (4) firewall configs are the same on both the computers except the change in IP addresses to allow each other access. (5) The IPV6 is enabled on both the PCs. (6) I cross checked the firewall rules needed for the homegroup to work property with the microsoft site. All of them are automatically added by Win7 firewall. (7) I have also enabled NetBios over TCP/IP.

    I pinged the notebook IP address from the \cmd prompt and vice-versa successfully. I therefore think it is probably something to do with resolving the IP address by the windows explorer.

    With the notebook able to access the workstation drive, and not vice-versa, I need to verify if the DNS crypt, which I have enabled on the workstation and not on the notebook, is the culprit. I think the 80070035 error is related to the windows explorer not able to resolve the IP address. Enabling the DNS crypt on one and not on the other should not matter but we never know.

    I will check this out and post.

    Thanks every one....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.