Trojan.Pakes

Discussion in 'ewido anti-spyware forum' started by Pebal118, Aug 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pebal118

    Pebal118 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Just installed V 4.0, ran a system scan and got "Trojan.Pakes" with a HIGH risk. I have attempted to quaratine or delete this and everytime I get a error message "Error in Deleting"
    What does this trojan do and how can I egt it off the system?
    Any help would be great.
    Thanks
    Pebal118
     
  2. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    Alias:
    Trojan.Win32.Pakes; Trojan.Dropper.Raven; Troj/Dloader-JM

    Description:
    Trojan/Pakes is trojan. Allows unauthorized parties access to send and execute programs of their choosing.

    Advice:
    Remove This is a very high risk threat and should be removed immediately as to prevent harm to your computer or your privacy.

    Threat risk: High Risk
    Highly dangerous spyware. Usually it may log keyboard activity of the user and take snapshots of the system. It uses stealth installation and its removal is very difficult.

    Do this only if it is _Trojan.Pakes.A_ or you find the following file, registry entry!!!

    1. Start PC in Safe mode.
    2. Delete Registry Entry:
    3. Delete file 'msoff.exe'
    4. Scan your PC in safe Mode with your AV/TR soft

    If it not this Trojan skip step 2 and 3 and do the rest.
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2006
  3. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    Do this only if it is _Trojan.Pakes.A_ or you find the following file, registry entry!!!

    1. Start PC in Safe mode.
    2. Delete Registry Entry:

    3. Delete file 'msoff.exe'
    4. Scan your PC in safe Mode with your AV/TR soft

    If it not this Trojan skip step 2 and 3 and do the rest.[/QUOTE]

    If you delete that registry entry are you messing up microsoft office?
    just wondering
    robin
     
  4. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    No, MS Office has in normal circumstances no /Run registry entry under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.