Trojan or McAfee false-positive?

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by Daveski17, Oct 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I noticed a McAfee pop-up on a relative's computer stating it had detected & removed a trojan (Artemis!78B50CF632C7) apparently discovered in a Chrome extension (IE Tab Classic).

    I'm pretty sure that this is a false-positive, has anyone else had anything similar?

    (Thank god I've stopped using McAfee on my computer!)
     
  2. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    anonymous1 day ago
    My McAfee virus protection just removed my plugin saying it contained a trojan named Artemis!78B50CF632C7


    On this page in Google extensions.

    I've scanned my own computer (I use the same extension) with SAS & MSE & come up blank.

    I am fairly sure this is another McFalse-positive! o_O
     
  3. blazr63

    blazr63 Lurker

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    Danvers, MA
    You should switch to avast. Best anti virus program I've used.
     
  4. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I actually use MSE. Avast! would probably be my second choice. I used McAfee for over a year without any problems but switched to MSE because it is lighter & has better overall performance. I think the 2009 McAfee, although heavy, wasn't that bad. From what I've seen the 2010 release 'isn't much cop' as we say in England.
     
  5. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Apparently, McAfee are 'looking into' it! :rolleyes:
     
  6. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    McAfee figures it out! Mc-Yay!

    This file has been whitelisted and it should no longer detects. As Artemis is updated in real-time there is no requirement to wait for a full DAT update nor to use an EXTRA.DAT intermediate solution. Simply wait approximately 30 minutes and this false will no longer exist or trigger on your system. Depending on the network settings you have or the caching involved between your system and ours it may take slightly longer for this false alarm to be resolved.

    I am really glad I use MSE now. ;)
     
  7. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    For some reason McAfee decided to remove the ability to easily exclude item or folder for their home user software offerings. This is despite people asking, again and again, for it to be put back in (as once was).
     
  8. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I had no problems with the McAfee version from BT but the new (2010?) version is not as good I don't think.

    I switched to MSE on my laptop because McAfee was so heavy. I also have MSE on my new desktop as I don't like what I have seen of the new McAfee release so far. :doubt:
     
  9. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,049
    Location:
    USA
    Yep, can't wait until Intel tries to put this into their hardware. They better reinvent the product first.
     
  10. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yeah, it's scary isn't it? :eek:

    I'm so glad I have gone AMD LOL! :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.