Trojan Horse Downloader.Keenval.C

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by iwiw60, May 15, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iwiw60

iwiw60 Registered Member

I was online surfing around on the internet today and received the following popup on-screen:
    =================
    VIRUS
    Trojan Horse Downloader.Keenval.C
    is found in file
    C:\SystemVolume
    Information\_restore{EC6FF40F-40A4-4F85-9293-A528A6BDB84D}RP353\
    A0052037.exe
    To remove the virus please run AVG for Windows
    =================
    So I clicked okay, and ran a full-test on AVG 6.0. The test results came up with no viruses detected!

I am running Windows XP Professional...since this first happened early this morning I have had that pop-up appear more than 3 times...help! Newbie here.

Thanks for any help... you may write directly to xxxxxxnetzero.com

Last edited by a moderator: May 15, 2004
  2. FanJ

FanJ Guest

3. FanJ

FanJ Guest

PS:

Maybe you would like to remove your email-address to protect you from Spam-bots and email-harvesters etc.

4. Jooske

Jooske Registered Member

Hello there!
    since it's in your system restore, there must be an original or has been elsewhere on your system.
    To get rid of the infected restore just disable system restore, reboot, enable system restore again and manually make a new system restore point as all the older ones now are wiped away.
    You might however like to do a full system scan with fully updated TDS first, rightclick on one of the alarms in the bottom console to save as TXT and post that scandump.txt output in your next posting.
    Don't delete nothing yet, just keep that alarm box up till you posted and got replies here.

5. Peace

Peace Registered Member

How do i set system restore manually, also can you please tell me if there is any good trojan defence I can download for free. This is the second time i got one of these the first was Keenval B

6. Jooske

Jooske Registered Member