Troj/FireSpy-A -- signature naming standards

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Dilbert_2, Aug 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dilbert_2

Dilbert_2 Registered Member

I am new to NOD32, having just installed a registered version of it, so I'm still getting my 'feet wet' and may ask some stupid questions. But I may have two of them now:

(#1) Troj/FireSpy-A is a relatively new information-stealing Trojan which specifically targets Mozilla Firefox, which I use most of the time. I think this one made its first appearance around July 24th.

I assume NOD32 covers this threat, but I am unable to identify a reference to it in the the ThreatSense Updates listing of virus signatures (http://www.eset.com/support/updates.php). (This is the right place to look, I assume.)

I may be using the wrong text string, but I've used "FireSpy", "FormSpy", "Firefox" to no avail. However there are some signatures with "-moz" (Chimoz-) and I was wondering if one of these might be it.

(#2) Is there an industry-wide standard standard for referencing/naming virus signatures, or does each virusscan company come up with their own unique system of names? If so, is there any way to cross-reference them?

Many thanks in advance. Nice forum, by the way. Been digging around in here for hours.

Regards, Dilbert_2

Last edited: Aug 2, 2006
  2. ASpace

ASpace Guest

Re: Troj/FireSpy-A -- signature namimg standards

No problem , you are welcome !

Since you are new ESET NOD32 user , please have a look at these pages :

Make sure your NOD32 is configured on Max as showed in the links above and keep your Firefox updated . The latest version is 1.5.0.5 .You can download it from here http://www.mozilla.com/ or use the integrated update to upgrade to the neweset version .

A quote from NOD32's faq

Does NOD32 detect a particular virus?