Triple Engine AV (custom made, lol)

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Eliot, Mar 17, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    925
    Location:
    Computer Chair
    Gdata AVK 2005 Pro is my baby of course. I have just installed NOD32 on top of it and accidentally set AMON to auto start. LOL, no problems on boot, so I cranked AMON to Blackspear type settings and its running great. I can't even tell I have NOD32 on here, let alone with the AH on full blast. Imagine the protection here, KAV, BD and NOD32 all cranked up to max. I love mistakes sometimes. :D
     
  2. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,054
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Woohoo!!!!! I'm very happy for you Eliot!

    This discovery might make you part of GDATA which in future might use NOD engine too...Congratulations and thanks :)

    Best Regards,
    Firecat
     
  3. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    They may not show any conflicts now, but if some malware is detected then you may see some 'fun' starting between the 2 AV scanners ;)
     
  4. Grumble

    Grumble Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Posts:
    185
    Location:
    the sunshine state
    Try some tests with the eicar files Eliot, and let us know what happens.
     
  5. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,054
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Hehe...Yep. Lots and lots of fun ;)
     
  6. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    925
    Location:
    Computer Chair
    Froze up when I opened Outlook, so I am going to cut off everything but AMON and leave it on default, then retest. Will post back with results. BTW, I had all of NOD cranked when that freeze happened.
     
  7. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,054
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    ladies and gentlemen, we have seen the beginning of this suspense movie...will the ending be happy or sad? :D
     
  8. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    925
    Location:
    Computer Chair
    Just AMON alongside GData is running smoothly with everything so far. I have the settings cranked up too. :D
     
  9. Howard

    Howard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Posts:
    313
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    I am interested in the conflict that appreared when you launched Outlook. Do you have EMON as part of NOD32?
     
  10. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    925
    Location:
    Computer Chair
    Nope, no EMON.
     
  11. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    925
    Location:
    Computer Chair

    Eicar.com - AMON snatched it first and kept it at bay b/c GData never reported anything

    Eicar_Com.zip - GData nailed this and AMON never got a scent of it.

    Eicarcom2.zip - GData again.

    No problems. :)
     
  12. Grumble

    Grumble Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Posts:
    185
    Location:
    the sunshine state
    Fantastic! Now run BoClean, TDS-3 exec prot, and Ewido guard along with those three AV engines and you'll be the most protected guy in the entire universe!! :D :D :D
     
  13. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    925
    Location:
    Computer Chair
    LOL, I have those 3, TDS-3 (exec prot enabled) and PG 3.150 Full right now. Add in MS Antispyware, Ad Muncher and Outpost Pro 2.5 for unparalleled defensive stance. :D Rock Solid :ninja:
     
  14. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    925
    Location:
    Computer Chair
    Dang! I found that several apps caused a major(several minutes) lag and only way to avoid is to disable either app. It may not be a flaw free setup, but there is no doubt that with a small amount of tweaking you could have a 3 engine AV of KAV/BD/NOD32.
     
  15. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I made a 4 engine scanner few years ago:
    Pc-cillin
    F-Secure
    McAfee
    Norton

    :)
     
  16. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    Depending on the operating system you used, it was actually 5 or 6 engined scanner, because of F-secure. F-secure had 2/3 engines even a few years ago, depending on the used operating system.

    Best regards,
    Firefighter!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.