Trialing Online Armor

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by BG, Aug 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BG

    BG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Posts:
    214
    I just started a trial of Online Armor and wanted to ask about compatibility with DSA or Cyberhawk. Is there any need to run either one of these with OA? Or would they be considered a good layered approach? Forgot to add ... I'm running XP Home fully updated behind a router.
     
  2. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    You don't actually need any more protection than Online Armor. I myself run Pro Security along side it several times without problems, but it can all be different.

    You are pretty well covered with Online Armor. Cyberhawk tends to slow down some systems by itself, so hold off for a newer version if you intend to play with it. I think DSA would be too much overlap with Online Armor.

    dja2k
     
  3. BG

    BG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Posts:
    214
    thanks dja2k ... guess I'll trial OA with Avira Premium and see how trouble free that turns out.
     
  4. Doc Serenity

    Doc Serenity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Posts:
    105
    I've been using OA2 with Avira Personal Premium and have been very happy with this combo.
     
  5. BG

    BG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Posts:
    214
    I have noticed that (on my system at least) running DSA with this combo caused lots of windows errors. Then tryed Cyberhawk and got the same bunch of errors. Seems that OA is happiest when it's in charge. But so far I really like this app. I'm going to go for the full 30 day ride to make sure before I spend my money. Feel like I got burnt by CH people. Paid for CH and it still has a lot of problems (oh well my fault for not checking it out throughly).
     
  6. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hi BG

    If you're running multiple security apps then make sure that they each give each other plenty of permission. My advice here is simple: If you are running Security ProgramX and Security ProgramY then make sure that X is given full permissions in Y, and vice versa. While you may be able to lock this down somewhat if you are an expert user, the fact is that security programs are pretty invasive - and they often release updates and change/expand what they do.

    Cheers

    Mike
     
  7. BG

    BG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Posts:
    214
    Thanks Mike for taking the time to point this out.

    So...... when is OA going to be ready for Vista?
     
  8. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    No worries. We're doing an updated OA2 right now, and while vista support is in the future we're not actively working on it yet. We will be soon, though.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.