Trendnet firewall router

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by ccsito, Jan 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I sure looks as if it would do what you are wanting one for.
     
  3. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    Thanks for the reply. I wonder why all (or nearly all of them) are wireless? I know that many users link different PCs throughout a building so getting access through a common point is desirable. But I have rarely found a hard wired router. I guess manufacturers don't make them that often (or at least they are rarely listed in sales ads).
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    At least with the wireless routers you can turn the wireless off if not needed.
     
  5. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Even the routers that advertise as wireless, will still have ports for direct wired connection.

    Looking, for example, at the "TRENDnet 300Mbps Wireless N-Draft Firewall Router" this, if you look at the specs will show "4 x 10/100Mbps Auto-MDIX LAN Port and 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Port (Internet)".
    The 4 x 10/100 are the hard wire connections for the LAN
     
  6. awsomaha

    awsomaha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Considering everything is going wireless, most likely the "wired" router will be going to the way side, at some point. As bigc73542 had mentioned, I would just get a wireless router and then disable the wireless part if you don't need it.
     
  7. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    I do not think they will be able to completely remove a hard wired LAN connection, this is needed for initial setup and for any future bios upgrades.
     
  8. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    Really cheap routers often have nasty firmware. I would get a Linksys WRT54GL, which is good out of the box, or can run Tomato or DD-WRT firmware. They cost about $60. Buffalo used to be the best deal, but they are no longer available in the US due to a patent dispute, unless you can find one left over somewhere.
     
  9. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    In my corporate environment, all LAN connections are hard wired. There are no wireless connections for any of the PCs. Security is probably one reason as well as allowing for easier updates.

    The router that Stem makes a reference to appears to require that you set up rules just like a software firewall or are they pre-set?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.