trend micro web protection add on

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by simisg, Dec 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. simisg

    simisg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    Greece
  2. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    this one looks very interesting cause it is an adon and does not run in the background;) but how is the detention rate for this antivirus?do you know?any body?thanks
     
  3. simisg

    simisg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    Greece
    i run it now in my pc it run in the backgound and it is a bit aggresive when stops malware domains it has web threat protection in three levels high,medium,low
    also monitor smtp traffic ,irc requests,dns queries for bots.........
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    cool:) and it uses a database too for malware detention?
     
  5. simisg

    simisg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    Greece
    i have just try it against malware domain list. the web protection scores perfect 10 everything blocked on the fly..........
     
  6. inka

    inka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Posts:
    406
    Sounds like it operates as a local HTTP proxy. Is that correct?
    Does it handle https, or does it disengage during 'secure' browsing sessions?
     
  7. inka

    inka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Posts:
    406
    I'm curious, but in no rush to install this (would need to sort out chaining it inline along with proxomitron and/or Fiddler).

    If you're game, please check it against "freshly listed" sites
    ( as listed at malwaredomains.com )
     
  8. mevcit

    mevcit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    İstanbul, T?rkiye
    I used Trend Micro IS Pro before. The database of Trend Micro is so poor. Yet this web protection module, which is only available in the pro version of the IS, blocks many dangerous web pages before they load. I wanted to find it as a separate program but wasn't able to. So thank you so so much for informing.

    By the way, I tested it with new malware and rogue threat links on Malwarebtes' Forums and it blocked almost all of them. For me, this is better than any web protection add-on. And it's free. :D This will build a pretty good combination with Antivir Free.

    Thanks again.
     
  9. thanatos_theos

    thanatos_theos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Posts:
    540
    It is listed under "Free Tools" yet according to the FAQs it times out.

    Why is SysClean not listed in Clean-up Tools?
     
  10. mevcit

    mevcit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    İstanbul, T?rkiye
    That's bad. And I couldn't find a link where to buy, so I guess it's not sold separately either. We've just a 90-day trial. :oops:
     
  11. simisg

    simisg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    Greece
    is not a trial is in free tools list............ i have installed and noware says something about trial or days remaining....
     
  12. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,076
  13. progress

    progress Guest

    I'll stay with AVG LinkScanner or WOT :)
     
  14. mevcit

    mevcit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    İstanbul, T?rkiye
    Trend Micro Web Protection works browser-free, not like most common add-ons. I use Opera and it blocks dangerous web pages.
     
  15. thanatos_theos

    thanatos_theos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Posts:
    540
    @simisg
    Thanks for the clarification. They should update their site then.

    @tgell
    Thanks for pointing out TrendProtect. It seems similar to SiteAdvisor. They should have listed it in Free Tools also. According to the FAQs it doesn't block unsafe sites. You'll only get warned of unsafe sites in Google/MSN/Yahoo searches. So I presume, you can still access a malware site when entered directly into the address bar, accidentally clicking a link in a search/site or thru redirection? Nice to have another content filter though. But I hope they just combine TrendProtect and Web Protection into one (free) product.

    EDIT: The FAQs section doesn't specify if TrendProtect blocks other categories apart from unsafe. Well if it just warns you also for the other categories wouldn't that defeat the purpose of a content filter (to block)?
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2009
  16. simisg

    simisg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    Greece
    trend micro web protection add on is superior than others because works with all browsers ,is also antibot shield and it works with some proxy stops all threats on the fly like network shield on avast...... in my tests scores perfect ten
     
  17. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    it sounds like a good prevention measure;)
     
  18. progress

    progress Guest

    It's superior but not free ... :doubt:
     
  19. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,076
  20. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I tried the web protection add on and it was a pain. I had several tabs open and eventually opened a "bad" rated page. The Trend Micro add on essentially stopped my browser from doing anything at that point and all pages had to be closed.
     
  21. thanatos_theos

    thanatos_theos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Posts:
    540
    @acr1965
    What browser? Did Web Protection block the site? Is it an exploit site? It's possible the browser hanged because of the site (not blocked by Web Protection).
     
  22. pbust

    pbust AV Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Posts:
    1,173
    Location:
    Spain
    Does not work on 64bits :(
     
  23. jlo

    jlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    UK
    Anyone have any idea how to report webaddresses that should be blocked and are not.

    I am quite impressed with the tool.

    Cheers

    Jlo
     
  24. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I am pretty sure it was IE7. I don't believe the site was anymore than one which was classified as bad, not necessarily one with active malicious content. I would have to stop my entire browsing session with all opened tabs when an alert popped up from TM. That happened a couple times and I uninstalled.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.